Welcome! Selected Resources for Graduate Students in AAE & REDA : Literature Searching
As a researcher at UW-Madison, you now have access to a true wealth of information! We subscribe to thousands of journals, hundreds of databases, and maintain a vast print collection. This page will help you search for articles and journals on your research area and locate the full-text. Do not be stopped by paywalls! If you are unable to find the article in our collections, we can almost always get you a copy through our Interlibrary Loan service.
Please contact us if you need assistance. We can help you to construct efficient searches, set alerts, find full text of articles and identify journals in which to publish. AskSEL@library.wisc.edu
Selecting and Searching Databases by Subject or Type
You can access databases from the library home page (library.wisc.edu). Use the dropdown menu at the Catalog button to navigate to Databases.
There are several ways to browse and to select databases:
1) Search by the title of the database (for example, 'EconLit').
2) Use the Browse by Subject/Type page to discover databases that index literature on your research topic.
3) Visit the Top 10 Databases page to quickly access a selection of popularly-used databases.
Consider the databases listed, below, for conducting your search of the research literature.
Getting Full Text Articles & Book Chapters
Follow (Find It button) or the "Find It at UW Madison" link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal or book is available in print if it is not accessible online
- request a free pdf of the article or book chapter if full text is not available online (Request a Copy)
If you already have a citation, use this Citation Search to search for your article.
Citation Managers such as EndNote, EndNote Basic, Mendeley, or Zotero are software tools for managing your citations. Citation Managers will help you:
- Create and organize a personal research database
- Download citations from online databases
- Format bibliographies and citations in papers
- Share your citations with others