Ask A Librarian
Tell Us What You Think
Research Classes
- Library Research Classes
Learn new tools and research skills! - DoIT Student Training
Learn about the computing resources UW Madison has to offer. - Writing Center Classes
Get help writing papers. - GUTS
Get tutoring services and enhance your study skills.
About This Guide
This Research Guide focuses on the problems cities face. Some of the basic concerns are: economic decline, urban sprawl, housing, poverty, transportation, crime, race relations and environmental quality.
Overview Resources
Find background information on your research topic.
- City Journal
City Journal is an urban policy magazine published by the Manhattan Institute for Policy Research. The magazine focuses on a wide variety of urban policy issues such as: school financing, policing strategy, welfare policy, urban architecture, and family policy. - Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more. - Housing and Urban Development - Homelessness
Resources and facts on homelessness provided by the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD). - Joint Center for Housing Studies
The Joint Center for Housing Studies is Harvard University's center for information and research on housing in the United States. The Joint Center analyzes the dynamic relationships between housing markets and economic, demographic, and social trends, providing leaders in government, business, and the non-profit sector with the knowledge needed to develop effective policies and strategies. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues. - U.S. Census Bureau - Poverty Topics
Provides an overview and definitions related to poverty, as well as detailed data from the 2000 Census report and links to other resources.
Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?
UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).
Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.
Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.
Friendly Librarian |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Contact Info College Library Room 2219 Helen C. White Hall 600 N. Park St. Madison, WI 53706 608-265-5697 Send Email |


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)





Loading...
