This is the "Overview" page of the "Copyright: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Copyright: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, copyright, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: May 4, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/undergradcopyright Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This guide will assist you in finding information about intellectual property and copyright law. It also provides resources for researching copyright as it applies to the online entertainment industry, including the visual, audio and digital arts.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Columbia University Copyright Advisory Office  
    Rating
    Provides basic information about the fundamentals of copyright law and fair use. Includes a "Copyright Quickguide" and a podcast on copyright fundamentals.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • University of Minnesota Copyright Information and Resources  
    Rating
    Provides basic overview of copyright, including information specific to use of copyrighted materials in teaching, research and writing, multimedia use, and use by students.
  • UW Madison Libraries Copyright Information Page  
    Rating
    Offers basic information about issues related to copyright law, including: exclusive rights of copyright, copyright duration, public domain, and copyright exemptions, including fair use.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip