Skip to main content

University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries

Research Guides

Tibetan Buddhism : Home

This guide contains resources on Tibetan Buddhism at UW-Madison and elsewhere in the world.


Monks debating. Debate has the reputation of being the most effective way of learning the Buddhist doctrine, preparing one to understand clearly the assertions and be able to apply them in meditation to achieve the liberating wisdom. The central purposes of Tibetan monastic debate are to defeat misconceptions, to establish a defensible view, and to clear away objections to that view. Such practice is crucial in learning Tibetan Buddhism.



 Welcome to Tibetan Buddhism guide!

This guide is intended for students and researchers with a focus on Tibetan Buddhism. It contains information on both print and web resources at UW-Madison and elsewhere in the world which deal with the Tibetan Buddhism. This is selective in nature and not intended to be a comprehensive list on the subject. 


Tibetan Collection at UW-Madison

UW-Madison has a very strong collection in Tibetan studies including Tibetan Buddhism. The collection serves to support the teaching and research of the faculty, students of UW-Madison, and others. The collection consists of pechas to a full range of Tibetan literary creativity. The collection's core was developed under the PL-480 program and the library still continues to receive new acquisitions from the Tibetan Autonomous Region (China), India, Bhutan and Nepal.

While most items are easily accessible through UW-Madison catalog and can be found in the stacks, rare and old texts are housed in Special Collections, in their Tibetan and Mongolian blockprints collection. Tibetan Language texts in all formats are in the East Asian Reading Room (412) on the 4th floor of Memorial Library.




Subject Guide

Todd Michelson-Ambelang
Memorial Library 278E


Guide Created by...

This research guide was created in 2012 by kalsang, a graduate student at the School of Library and Information Studies.