Last Updated: Apr 30, 2013
or click for more options ...
This Research Guide will assist you in finding materials on terrorism
used as a means of resistance to the modern state. The Overview section
concentrates on general studies which analyze why and how terrorism
occurs and government and media responses to terrorism.
Find background information on your research topic.
- Center for Nonproliferation Studies: Terrorism
The Center for Nonproliferation Studies, part of the Monterey Institute of International Studies, is the "largest nongovernmental organization in the United States devoted exclusively to research and training on nonproliferation issues." Listed here is a number of full-text articles, papers, and reports on such topics as: "Terrorist Group Profiles," "U.S. Domestic Preparedness and Response to Terrorism," and "Agroterrorism."
- Country Reports on Terrorism
The goal of Country Reports is to document trends and developments in global antiterrorist activity, summarize activity in terrorist hotspots, and profile locations where terrorist activity occurred.
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- Terrorism: Questions & Answers
From the Council on Foreign Relations, a nonpartisan organization; an abundance of information can be accessed here on topics related to terrorism and terrorist attacks throughout the world.
- The September 11 Digital Archive
A compilation of materials chronicling not only the attacks of September 11, but also personal and institutional responses to them. Akin to a time capsule, the September 11 Digital Archive encourages the submission of personal photographs, emails, and stories in an effort to preserve all perspectives on the attacks. Browse stories, emails, and images submitted by previous users of the website.