This is the "Overview" page of the "Sexual Harassment: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Sexual Harassment: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, employment, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/sexualharassment Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

The basic definition of sexual harassment comes from the United Stated Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC): "Unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature constitutes sexual harassment when submission to or rejection of this conduct explicitly or implicitly affects an individual's employment, unreasonably interferes with an individual's work performance or creates an intimidating, hostile or offensive work environment." This Research Guide will assist you in finding information about the legal, historical, psychological and social aspects of sexual harassment. 

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Harassment in the Workplace  
    Rating
    The Wisconsin State Law Library's topical research guide on sexual harassment, located within the Labor and Employment research guide, provides links to Wisconsin and Federal sources of information on sexual harassment laws.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • The U.S. Equal Employment Opportunity Commission: Sexual Harassment  
    Rating
    Discussion of sexual harassment, which is "a form of sex discrimination that violates Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964," and which includes "unwelcome sexual advances, requests for sexual favors, and other verbal or physical conduct of a sexual nature" affecting an employee's work environment. The website includes text of the law and related regulations, enforcement guidelines, policy documents, charge statistics, and related links.
  • Workplace Fairness: Sexual Harassment  
    Rating
    Provides answers to a variety of FAQs about sexual harassment.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip