Last Updated: Jul 10, 2012
or click for more options ...
This Research Guide provides information on the culture and traditions
of religions around the world as well as statistical representation of
different religions in the United States.
Find background information on your research topic.
- Center for the Study of World Religions: Resources
"Each topic area includes a brief overview of the CSWR's work in that area, together with related online photo galleries; video and audio presentations of lectures and conferences; papers and publications available online; and books published by the CSWR. Not all topic areas include all types of resources."
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
- Guide to Religions of the World
BBC World Service guide to religions, including Hinduism, Islam. Sikhism, Buddhism, Judaism, and Christianity.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- The Jewish Virtual Library
The Jewish Virtual Library website is a project designed and maintained by the American-Israeli Cooperative Enterprise (AICE), which was established as a nonprofit organization in 1993. It contains detailed information about the nature of the relationship between each US state and the nation of Israel, as well as individual sections devoted to History, The Holocaust, Politics and Travel.
- Virtual Religion Index
An annotated gateway site to locate Internet sources on religion from the Religion Department at Rutgers University.
- Wabash Center Guide to Internet Resources
The creator of this guide is Charles K. Bellinger, Theological Librarian and Assistant Professor of Theology and Ethics at Brite Divinity School in Fort Worth, Texas.