This is the "Overview" page of the "Rape: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Rape: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, sexual_abuse, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/rape Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on sexual violence against women. Included are materials covering such topics as date rape, marital rape and sexual assault of women, as well as the rape victims' emotional responses, legal rights and options. See also "Sexual Harassment".

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • National Sexual Violence Resource Center (NSVRC)  
    Rating
    "This is a center for the collection and distribution of statistics, information, and resources about sexual violence. It is aimed at caregivers, policy makers, and crisis centers. Provides a searchable database of the library catalogs of the center and of the Pennsylvania Coalition Against Rape, publications, a calendar of events, funding resources, profiles of organizations, materials on specific types of sexual violence, and classified ads for jobs in the field."
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • Sexual Violence Prevention  
    Rating
    "Collection of documents on sexual violence, defined as "any sexual act that is forced against someone's will. These acts can be physical, verbal or psychological." Includes a fact sheet (with statistics and risk factors), a brochure on sexual violence prevention strategies, details about prevention activities of the Centers for Disease Control (CDC) and other health agencies, and links to websites of groups working on sexual violence prevention. From the Injury Center at the CDC."
  • U.S. Department of Justice: Office on Violence Against Women  
    Rating
    Provides information background information and resources on domestic violence, sexual assault, stalking, and dating violence, as well as help for victims.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip