Navigation
- GIC Home
Grants Information Collection Web site Home Page - About the GIC
Mission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection - Foundation Center
Nation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving. - Foundation Center Cooperating Collections
Lists "Grants Research" collections throughout the United States
Ask A Librarian
Free Online: Biographical Info
- Biographical Directory of the United States Congress
"This Directory provides brief biographical information, including party affiliation, for all members of the United States Senate and House of Representatives from the Continental Congress to the present." - Biography.com
Covers celebrities and other persons in the national media. - FemBio.org
"Contains biographical information on over 30,000 notable women worldwide. Accumulated since 1982; entries added continually." - Free Birthday Database
In addition to showing you probable birth dates for persons matching your search criteria, this resource will also link to Intelius People Search. - Google.com
This probably seems obvious, but there is A LOT to be found by the determined googler. - LinkedIn
A professional information exchange mechanism - AnyWho
AT&T White and Yellow Pages. Includes reverse look-up. - WhitePages.com
Use this to look-up telephone numbers and addresses you cannot find in other online search engines.
Subscripton/Fee-based: Biographical Info
These resources are available for on-site use only in the Grants Information Collection at the University of Wisconsin-Madison Memorial Library. (UW-Madison students, faculty, staff may access these databases on- or off-site using a UW-Madison NetID unless otherwise noted.)
- Current Biography
Current Biography contains the full text of more than 15,000 biographies and 9,400 obituaries that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940. - Marquis Who's Who
"... a collection of over 1.3 million biographies that have appeared in 21 print titles since 1985... The biographies contain birth and death data, educational achievements, and personal and profession histories for individuals from many fields..." - Biography and Genealogy Master Index
"More than 13.6 million sketches of current and historical persons are included in the Biography & Genealogy Master Index." - American Men and Women of Science, 22nd ed.
"A biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences."
Subject Guide |
Nikki BuschOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
262 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Send Email
Subjects:
Grants, Scholarships, Fellowships, Nonprofits, Research
![]() |
Contact Info:
262 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Send Email
Subjects:
Grants, Scholarships, Fellowships, Nonprofits, Research
GIC News

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait