This is the "Overview" page of the "Prison Issues: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Prison Issues: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/prison Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on prisons and corrections in the United States, including alternatives to incarceration.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • American Civil Liberties Union : Prison  
    Rating
    American Civil Liberties Union Web Site includes press releases and position papers about prison related issues.
  • Civil Rights of Institutionalized Persons  
    Rating
    This Department of Justice site contains the full text of the Civil Rights of Institutionalized Persons Act (CRIPA), as well as a description of the Special Litigation Section that resolves issues pertaining to CRIPA. Relevant links are included.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Federal Bureau of Prisons  
    Rating
    "Locate federal prisons nationwide; learn how to locate inmates; and check prison employment opportunities. Find statistical information on institutions and inmates, including a weekly population report by institution, and inmate breakdowns by age, race, security level, and other criteria. Read historical documents and articles concerning BOP history, including Alcatraz and a list of all federal prisoners executed since 1927."
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip