Ask A Librarian
Tell Us What You Think
Research Classes
- Library Research Classes
Learn new tools and research skills! - DoIT Student Training
Learn about the computing resources UW Madison has to offer. - Writing Center Classes
Get help writing papers. - GUTS
Get tutoring services and enhance your study skills.
About This Guide
Pornography represents a unique dilemma in American society. Does research support the claim that exposure to pornography affects the viewer's attitudes and behavior? Would censorship of pornography violate First Amendment protection? The prevalence of violent pornography, child pornography and Internet pornography has sparked a heated debate over moral, legal, and civil rights issues.
Overview Resources
Find background information on your research topic.
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more. - Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues. - Firstamendment.org: Speech - Adult Entertainment
Firstamendment.org's collection of articles describing the legal/free speech issues surrounding such adult entertainment as pornography, adult bookstores, and nude dancing. "Pornography and Obscenity" includes a discussion of how courts define obscenity and indecency, and which types of pornography are protected by the First Amendment.
Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?
UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).
Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.
Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.
Friendly Librarian |
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() Contact Info College Library Room 2219 Helen C. White Hall 600 N. Park St. Madison, WI 53706 608-265-5697 Send Email |


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)





Loading...
