This is the "Overview" page of the "Population: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Population: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, population, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 10, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/population Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

While net population changes result from the interplay of birth rates, death rates, and the effects of migration, these elements depend on a wide range of social, economic, and environmental factors. These include marriage and childbearing patterns, employment opportunities, industrialization, health services, education, religion, the participation of women in the work force, and the types and prevalence of family planning.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • Population Reference Bureau  
    Rating
    Site provides timely and objective population information.
  • The World Factbook  
    Rating
    Up-to-date population information prepared by the Central Intelligence Agency and based on statistics from population censuses, vital statistics registration systems, or sample surveys.
  • U.S. Census Bureau  
    Rating
    Population information from the U.S. Census Bureau.
  • United Nations Population Information Network  
    Rating
    A resource from the United Nations Population Division.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip