This is the "Overview" page of the "Nuclear Waste: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Nuclear Waste: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, undergraduate_research, weapons_of_mass_destruction  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/nuclearwaste Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

Radioactive pollution resulting from nuclear reactor emissions, and nuclear weapons production and testing is a controversial environmental and health issue. From Hiroshima to Three Mile Island and Chernobyl, the dangers of radiation exposure have been studied and debated.  This Research Guide focuses on the health dangers associated with low-level radiation; radioactive pollutants of the air, soil and water; and radioactive waste disposal and storage. See also: Nuclear Proliferation guide.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Cleaning Up the Nuclear Weapons Complex: Internet Sources  
    Rating
    This site has a list of publications that provide the user a fast way to locate research, policy analysis, and information about environmental issues at the nation’s former nuclear weapons production sites.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • GreenPeace - Nuclear Waste  
    Rating
    One of the campaigns of the organization GreenPeace is to end nuclear power, reprocessing and waste dumping. The site provides a general introduction and history of nuclear power, information on reprocessing, plutonium, disarmament, transport, waste, and accidents.
  • Nuclear Waste  
    Rating
    Provided by the Sierra Club, this site offers a general overview of nuclear waste, maps that illustrate radioactive waste transportation, radoactivity in the environment, weapons testing and sites where you can build your own environmental maps, news briefs, recommended reading, and links to other Web sites on the topic.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • Radioactive Waste  
    Rating
    Information provided by the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission. The Web site presents information about the NRC's regulations, responsibilities, and related information.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip