This is the "Overview" page of the "Minimum Wage: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Minimum Wage: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, living_wage, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 31, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/minimumwage Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on minimum wage in the United States. Issues covered include legislation, poverty, the living wage movement and the case against minimum wage laws. 

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Economic Policy Institute  
    Rating
    "The Economic Policy Institute is a nonprofit, nonpartisan think tank that seeks to broaden the public debate about strategies to achieve a prosperous and fair economy." Click on "minimum wage issue guide" under Resources to find articles, statistics and links.
  • Employment Policies Institute  
    Rating
    "The Employment Policies Institute is a non-profit research organization dedicated to studying public policy issues surrounding employment growth." Click on "Minimum Wage" and "Living Wage" to find studies and press releases that argue against minimum wage laws.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • U.S. Department of Labor  
    Rating
    Information on minimum wage is found in several sections of this site. Click on "Wages" under Find It - By Topic on the left. "Minimum Wage" is a subtopic. It includes minimum wage rates for each state. Click on "BLS" (Bureau of Labor Statistics) under DOL Agencies at the bottom right. The "Wages, Earning & Benefits" section contains reports and statistics.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip