This is the "Overview" page of the "Local and Organic Food: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Local and Organic Food: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, sustainable_agriculture, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 19, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/local_food Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide provides an introduction to sources dealing with local and organic food, including sustainable agriculture, standards for organic food production, community-supported agriculture, and farmers' markets.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Food Policy Institute  
    Rating
    The Food Policy Institute is a research unit of Rutgers, the State University of New Jersey that addresses food policy issues. We view our role in food policy research as supporting public and private decision makers who shape aspects of the food system within which government, agriculture, industry and the consumer interact.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture : Farmers Markets and Local Food Marketing  
    Rating
    Information and resources about farmers' markets and community-supported agriculture programs provided by the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
  • U.S. Department of Agriculture Alternative Farming Systems Information Center  
    Rating
    The Alternative Farming Systems Information Center (AFSIC) specializes in identifying resources about sustainable food systems and practices in support of USDA's effort to ensure a sustainable future for agriculture and farmers worldwide. Includes information about sustainable agriculture, local and organic foods, and community-supported agriculture.
  • Food Routes  
    Rating
    "National non-profit dedicated to reintroducing Americans to their food – the seeds it grows from, the farmers who produce it, and the routes that carry it from the fields to our tables." Includes searchable database of materials relating to local food research and promotion.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip