- University of Wisconsin-Madison
- Research Guides
- German Language Humanities
- German Linguistics
German Language Humanities : German Linguistics
German Linguistics
This page under development
To begin, see the Reference Department's Research Guide: German Philology: Reference Sources in Memorial Library
Pertinent Databases and Websites of Interest
Atlas zur deutschen Alltagssprache
Using data compiled from internet surveys, provides maps that build upon Jürgen Eichhoff's Wortatlas der deutschen Umgangssprachen to reveal language trends in nearly 500 German-speaking locations in Germany, Switzerland, Belgium, and Luxembourg. Surveys not only regional vocabulary, but also variations in pronunciation, forms of address, and grammar
Bibliographie der deutschen Sprache- und Literaturwissenschaft (BDSL)
A German-language periodical index and bibliography of other publications in all aspects of German language and literature
Bibliography of Linguistic Literature / Bibliographie Linguistischer Literatur
Compiled by the Special Collection Linguistics at the University Library Frankfurt/Main, this is one of the most important sources of bibliographical information for general as well as English, German and Romance linguistics
Datenbank für Gesprochenes Deutsch (DGD) at the Institut für Deutsche Sprache, Mannheim
Collects and archives data of spoken German in interactions (conversation corpora) and data of domestic and non-domestic varieties of German (variation corpora). Currently, hosts around 50 corpora comprising more than 15000 audio and 500 video recordings amounting to around 5000 hours of recorded material with more than 7000 transcripts. The DGD also advises researchers in using the existing inventory as well as in creating their own oral corpora. Registration required
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
An index with abstracts to journal articles, books, papers, monographs, dissertations on all aspects of language, including sociolinguistics, lexicology, grammar, speech pathology, speech disorders, language acquisition. Search this for scholarly articles on the German language
MLA International Bibliography (via ProQuest)
The Modern Language Association International Bibliography indexes 4,000 periodicals in English and other languages as well as books, book chapters, and dissertations. Its subject matter includes critical works on literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore
Additional online resources of interest:
- Bavarian Archive for Speech SignalsMakes available resources of contemporary spoken German as well as tools for the processing of digitized speech. Speech material is structured to allow flexible and precise access, with rich annotations, metadata, and linguistic-phonetic evaluation
- ESS Literature & Linguistics ResourcesCollection of resources from the European Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries
- Grammis (Bibliographie zur deutschen Grammatik)Grammis is a multimedia Internet information system to German grammar. It is aimed at all those who are looking for explanations and background knowledge on grammatical phenomena, ie in particular to students, teachers and linguists
- A History of German: What the Past Reveals About Today's Language(Salmons, Joseph. Supplementary materials to published book -- very thorough)
- Institut für Deutsche SprachePreeminent non-university institution for the study and documentation of the contemporary usage and recent history of the German language. Wide variety of professional materials in the documents and bibliography sections
- Lin | gu | is | tik: Portal für SprachwissenschaftResource directory covering all aspects of linguistics, from general topics to synchronous and diachronic linguistics to historical-comparative research, involving all main European languages as well as dialects, threatened, and ancient languages. Includes extensive searchable directories of links, databases, catalogs, electronic journals, and research projects, as well as listings of new acquisitions. New modules, such as "Links für Einsteiger" (Links for Beginners) and "Korpora" are under development
- Multimediale Lehr- und Lernmaterialien zur Einführung in die historische SprachwissenschaftAudio-visual overview of issues in historical and contemporary German linguistics
- PortaLinguaProject funded by the Bundesministerium für Bildung und Forschung to gather and develop multimedia teaching and learning resources in the fields of linguistics and communication sciences
- Society for Germanic LinguisticsServes the broad community of scholars teaching and researching in Germanic Linguistics and Philology. Publishes the Journal of Germanic Linguistics (JGL)
- Sprechender Sprachatlas von BayernDeveloped from the Kleiner Bayerischer Sprachatlas (dtv-Verlag Munich, 2006), this resource uses sound files from 70 locations recorded and edited in 2006 to provide an overview of the manifold dialects of Bavaria that is academically substantiated, but nonetheless understandable to the layperson. The Sprechender Sprachatlas von Bayerisch-Schwaben was added in 2012
Topics in German Linguistics / Catalog Searches
Try searching the library catalog for the following broad topics (use subject terms from within records of interest to narrow a search):
German Linguistics Journals / Annuals
- Jahrbuch (Instituts für Deutsche Sprache)Annual; each issue has a focused topic
Books
Here are some representative titles in the field of historical German linguistics:
Call number: PF3075 M6 1965
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PF3777 K64 1991
Non-circulating
Call number: PF3075 S24 2012
See also: Online supplementary materials
Jahrbuch (Instituts für Deutsche Sprache)
Annual; each issue has a focused topic
Language Contact and the Origins of the Germanic Languages (Schrijver, Peter)
Call number: PD582 S37 2014
Sprachgeschichte. Ein Handbuch zur Geschichte der deutschen Sprache und ihrer Erforschung (2 vols.)
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Call number: PF3075 S63 1984
Non-circulating
Zur Geschichte der gesprochenen deutschen Sprache (Weithase, Irmgard. 2 vols.)
Call number: PF3075 W4
General Linguistics: Selected Resources
- Concise Oxford Dictionary of LinguisticsOnline resource
- Dictionary of Linguistics and PhoneticsOnline resource
- Glossary of Linguistic TermsFree online linguistics glossary from the Summer Institute of Linguistics' LinguaLinks Library 5.0
- Handbook of Historical SociolinguisticsBlackwell Handbooks in Linguistics.
German is well represented here - International Encyclopedia of LinguisticsOxford, 2nd ed. Online resource
- Routledge Dictionary of Language and LinguisticsCall Number: P29 B874 1996
Location: Memorial Library Reference Stacks (2 South)
Non-Circulating
Linguist List
LINGUIST List (International Linguistics Community Online)
A mailing list and website primarily for academic linguists, LINGUIST List is dedicated to providing information on language and language analysis. LINGUIST maintains a web-site with over 2000 pages and runs a mailing list with over 25,000 subscribers worldwide. LINGUIST also hosts searchable archives of over 100 other linguistic mailing lists and runs research projects which develop tools for the field, e.g., a peer-reviewed database of language and language-family information, and recommendations of best practice for digitizing endangered languages data.
For beginners with a burning question, try Ask a Linguist, a place where anyone interested in language or linguistics can ask a question and, if approved, get responses from a panel of professional linguists, all of whom have volunteered to help provide this free service