This is the "Overview" page of the "Genetic Engineering: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Genetic Engineering: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: bioengineering, college_library, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/geneticengineering Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

Genetic engineering is the production of new genes and alteration of genomes by substituting or adding new genetic material. This Research Guide is intended to be a starting point, as the topic of genetic engineering is extremely broad. 

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Agricultural Network Information Center (AgNIC)  
    Rating
    Sponsored by the University of Maryland, AgNIC is a guide to quality agricultural biotechnology information on the Internet. The directory covers animals, economics, ethics, breeding and genetic improvement, entomology, food biotechnology, regulation, crops, environmental studies, and forestry.
  • Bioethics Resources on the Web  
    Rating
    Provided by the National Institutes of Health, this site contains a wealth of information about general and specific bioethics topics, organizations, and other federal resources relating to bioethics.
  • Bioethics.net  
    Rating
    Hosted by the University of Pennsylvania, Center for Bioethics. Refer to the "Features" section for articles relating to bioethics.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • Pew Initiative on Food and Biotechnology  
    Rating
    "The Pew Initiative on Food and Biotechnology was established in 2001 to be an independent and objective source of credible information on agricultural biotechnology for the public, media and policymakers." The site covers recent news releases, research, polls, the Pew Initiative's own publications, and other Pew Initiative events.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip