Skip to main content

University of Wisconsin - Madison Libraries

Research Guides

Genealogy Resources : Getting Started

An overview of genealogical resources in the UW-Madison Libraries.

Ask a Librarian

 

Need help?

Loading chat

or click for more options ...

Library Catalog Search Tips

The Library Catalog provides location and status of materials in campus libraries.

Search by author, title, or keyword.

An approach to searching for genealogical materials is to combine subject terms for genealogy:  e.g., country namecity name, or name of province,state, county, etc.  with geographical names, personal names, registers of births, church records and registers, gazetteers, genealogycemeteries,periodicalsor personal narratives.

Library Catalog

Overview

Genealogical materials can be found in campus libraries.  Start with the collections of Wisconsin Historical Society Library and Memorial Library.  

The Library Catalog provides information about and locations of materials in campus collections.  

Resources related to genealogy include reference sources such as bibliographies, biographies, family histories, gazetteers, handbooks and guides, census and church records, newspapers, periodicals, and many other materials.

Wisconsin Historical Society Library

The Historical Society Library is the library for American history for the University of Wisconsin-Madison.  

The Genealogy page includes genealogical tools (e.g., Wisconsin Genealogy Index, Wisconsin Local History and Biography Articles, etc.), catalogs, and information on topics (e.g., census, church, family histories, immigration, naturalization, etc.). Additionally, there is information about online databases (e.g., AncestryLibrary, HeritageQuest, etc.) for use in the library.

Memorial Library

Memorial Library is the University's research library for humanities and social sciences.  It includes books, microfilms, newspapers, periodicals, electronic resources, and other materials from around the world.

Other Campus Libraries

Memorial Reference Staff

Memorial Reference Group
Contact:
Memorial Library
Second Floor, Room 262
608-262-3242
Website / Blog Page

Access to Libraries

Campus libraries are open to everyone for on-site use of materials and research assistance.