This is the "Overview" page of the "Gambling: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Gambling: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, gambling, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/gambling Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on gambling (gaming) in the United States and it's psychological, social, and economic effects on the individual and society. 

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Alberta Gaming Research Institute  
    Rating
    The Alberta Gaming Research Institute is a consortium composed of the University of Alberta, the University of Calgary, and the University of Lethbridge, Canada. Their Web site contains current research publications, online library resources, recent news and newsletters, events, and other research center links.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Gaming Research Research Guides  
    Rating
    Provided by the Gaming Studies Research Center (University of Nevada-Las Vegas), these Research Guides offer summaries of gambling topics such as "Gaming History" and "Problem Gambling", as well as print and electronic bibliographies.
  • Gaming Studies Research Center  
    Rating
    Located at the University of Nevada-Las Vegas, "The Gaming Studies Research Center is a world-class center for the scholarly analysis of gambling and gaming issues. Our main resource is the Gaming Collection which is part of Special Collections at UNLV's state-of-the-art Lied Library."
  • Government Documents on Gambling  
    Rating
    This is a link to an online Research Guide, prepared by Purdue Libraries. While the first part of the guide talks about gambling resources unique to Purdue University Libraries, the last half of the guide provides examples of U.S. Government documents on gambling, and "Internet Resources" related to U.S. National and Local governments and gambling.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • University of Nevada - Gaming Resources on the Internet  
    Rating
    This is another Research Guide created by the University of Nevada, Reno Libraries. The guide groups Internet Resources into the following topics: Associations, Government Information, News Sources, and Casino and Resort Directories.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip