Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014
or click for more options ...
This Research Guide will assist you in finding information about the
legal issues of online music and other file sharing and help you
address the question: Is it just being neighborly or is it piracy? In
addition to online music copyright issues, this guide provides
information about copyright law as it relates to the online
entertainment industry, including the visual, audio and digital arts.
For more information related to intellectual property & copyright
issues, see the Research Guide: Intellectual Property & Copyright.
Find background information on your research topic.
- Chilling Effects
Chilling Effects is a joint project of the Electronic Frontier Foundation and Harvard, Stanford, Berkeley, University of San Francisco, and University of Maine law school clinics. The website offers background material and explanations of the law for people whose websites deal with topics such as Fan Fiction, Copyright, Domain Names and Trademarks, Anonymous Speech, and Defamation. Their Web site also has a searchable database.
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- United States Copyright Office
See "copyright basics" to view background information about the topic. Also see the frequently asked questions (FAQ) page on this Web site to get a general introduction to the organization.