This is the "Overview" page of the "Family: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Family: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, family, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: May 13, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/family Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide introduces some of College Library's resources on family studies. It includes current perspectives on the economic, legal and social changes in American family life. Possible areas of investigation are: dual-career families, two-income families, alternative families, extended families, working mothers and child care, child-rearing practices, marriage, divorce, living together, single-parent families, and family policies.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Child & Family Web Guide  
    Rating
    Gateway to the best sites about children from Tufts University.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • SOSIG: Families  
    Rating
    Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) is a UK-based source of information about sociology for researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. Their "Families" page includes links to a variety of websites, reports, organizations, and other online materials dealing with families and children.
  • The Factbook: Eye-opening Memos on Everything Family  
    Rating
    "The Factbook is 'an organized collection of research on family' created as a website companion for Po Bronson's book, "Why Do I Love These People?" Find approximately one hundred well-documented short articles and memos about family life, including facts, statistical data, and opinions. Topics include parenting, family roles and responsibilities, marriage, children, work, and more."
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip