This is the "Overview" page of the "Evolution/Creationism: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Evolution/Creationism: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 29, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/evolution Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

The continuing ideological struggle between evolutionists and creationists has entered a new phase with the emergence of "intelligent design." Intelligent design (ID) is a concept that states that living organisms must be the product of careful and conscious design that cannot be explained by the random workings of evolution alone. This Research Guide focuses on resources which cover the scientific nature of evolution versus creationism, as well as disputes over teaching intelligent design in public schools and its presentation in textbooks.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • AAAS Evolution Resources  
    Rating
    The American Association for the Advancement of Science Dialogue on Science, Ethics, and Religion encourages the exchange of ideas between scientific and religious communities.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Evolution vs. Creationism  
    Rating
    Links to various resources such as books, videos, databases and more.
  • Intelligent Design?  
    Rating
    Three proponents of Intelligent Design present their views of design in the natural world. Each view is immediately followed by a response from a proponent of evolution. Includes links to related sites at the end of the report.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • Tennessee vs. John Scopes - The "Monkey Trial" - 1925  
    Rating
    Site contains biographies of the trial participants, excerpts from the trial transcripts, and H.L. Mencken's reports from the trial.
  • The Complete Works of Charles Darwin  
    Rating
    The largest collection of writings by and and about Darwin ever published, this site provides access to Darwin's complete publications. It includes publications, manuscripts, and supplementary works.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip