This is the "Overview" page of the "European Union: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

European Union: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, europe, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/european_union Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on the European Union (also referred to as the European Economic Community). The European Union is a group of European nations which have developed a Common Market system aimed at breaking down trade and political barriers between member countries. There is an enormous amount of information available on this topic. Thus, you might find it useful to narrow your focus by dealing with the European Union in relation to a specific country or type of product.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Europa: European Commission: Enlargement  
    Rating
    "Official information about the process of the European Union (EU) to add new countries to its membership in order 'to unite Europe peacefully after generations of division and conflict.' Provides a FAQ, country profiles, arguments and public opinion, and documents related to the expansion. Available in several languages."
  • Europa: The European Union Online  
    Rating
    The English language version of the official site of the European Union (EU). Provides current news and upcoming events, EU activities, information on the different institutions and bodies of the EU, official documents, and information sources and contacts. Searchable.
  • European Union Internet Resources  
    Rating
    "A collection of websites about the European Union. Topics include institutions and bodies, business, research centers, documents, journals, and treaties. From the Doe & Moffitt Libraries, University of California, Berkeley."
  • European Union: Delegation of the European Commission to the USA  
    Rating
    The European Union from a US perspective. This website provides guides to EU legislation and publications, information resources on the EU, European Union Centers in the US and links to Europe Magazine and the Eurecom monthly newsletter. The site is maintained by the Delegation of the European Commission to the United States (Washington, D.C.) which serves essentially as an EU embassy.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip