Getting Full Text
Follow the
button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (MadCat)
- request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Request a Copy/Library Express)
If you already have a citation, use this do-it-yourself
form to search for your article.
- How to Find a Specific Article
This video will walk you through the process of finding a specific article. Or, if you prefer, try this tipsheet
Managing your References
- RefWorks
RefWorks is web-based software for managing your citations. It is free to all faculty, staff and students at UW-Madison. - EndNote
EndNote is desktop citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication. - Zotero
Zotero is a free Firefox plug-in that allows you to save citations, documents and copies of web pages. It's easy to learn, but not robust enough to support writing large documents. - Compare RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero

Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for most topics...
Check/uncheck databases to select, and enter topic into search box, or click on the database name for more precise searching.
Click on the
next to the database name to find out how to transfer references from that database to RefWorks or EndNote.
- CAB Abstracts
Leading scholarly database covering agriculture and natural resources worldwide. QuickGuide - Biological Abstracts
Largest scholarly database for biology. QuickGuide - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management
Leading environmental database, covers all aspects of pollution; ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, & water resources. Quickguide - JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive
Archive of older scholarly journals in many subjects, including ecology, economics and sociology. It does not include articles published in the last 3-5 years. QuickGuide - Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)
Interdisciplinary database of articles from top scholarly journals. Quickguide - Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide

Ecology
- Agricultural and Environmental Biotechnology Abstracts
Indexes 123 journals specializing in biotechnological developments and new applications in the environmental field. - Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts

- Ecology Abstracts (CSA)
Provides bibliographic access to approximately 350 research journals in ecology. - EIS: Digests of Environmental Impact Statements (CSA)
Accesses environmental impact statements. Statements include description of the purpose, the positive and negative aspects, legal mandates, and prior references as well as the issuing agency, the EIS, and EPA numbers. - Fish & Fisheries Worldwide

- GEOBASE

- Toxline (NLM)
Provides citations and abstracts to research and data covering the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. - Water Resources Abstracts

- Zoological Record
Leading database covering zoology worldwide. QuickGuide
Environmental Engineering
- Compendex (via Engineering Village) (EV)
The premier engineering database that includes environmental engineering, hydrology, and pollution management. - Environmental Engineering Abstracts (CSA)
Indexes over 700 primary journals and over 2,500 additional sources including monographs and conference proceedings covering literature pertaining to technological and engineering aspects of air and water quality, environmental safety, & energy production - GEOBASE

- Pollution Abstracts (CSA)
Pollution Abstracts covers research on all forms of pollution, including air, water, waste, radioactive material and toxic emissions as well as noise pollution. - Risk Abstracts (CSA)
Risk Abstracts indexes 1360 journals covering materials dealing with risk that arises from industrial, technological, and environmental conditions.
Human-Environment Interface
- Environmental History Bibliography
Searchable online bibliography containing annotated descriptions of over 40,000 books, articles, and dissertations on topics in the fields of forest, conservation, and environmental history. - ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center

- GreenFILE
Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc. QuickGuide - Risk Abstracts (CSA)
Risk Abstracts indexes 1360 journals covering materials dealing with risk that arises from industrial, technological, and environmental conditions. - SocINDEX
Leading sociology database. QuickGuide - Sociological Abstracts
Leading sociology database. QuickGuide
Economics, Policy, & Politics
- Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Catalog of United States Government Publications - EconLit
Leading scholarly index for economics; covers over 300 English language periodicals and books. Quickguide - PAIS (Publlic Affairs Information Service)

- Public Administration Abstracts (EBSCO)
Public Administration Abstracts includes citations and summaries for journal articles that cover essential areas related to public administration, including public administration theory and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. - SocINDEX
Leading sociology database. QuickGuide
News, Newspapers and Popular Magazines
- Academic Search Elite

- Environment & EnergyIncludes news from Greenwire, ClimateWire, and Environment & Energy Daily
- Lexis/Nexis

- Newspaper Source Plus

- Proquest Research Library

Steenbock Librarian |


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)


Loading...
