This is the "Overview" page of the "Endangered Species: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Endangered Species: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, environment, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Apr 11, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/endangeredspecies Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide presents resources for research on plants and animals threatened with extinction and attempts at their preservation.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • National Geographic - Wild World Maps  
    Rating
    Wild World is a collaboration between National Geographic, World Wildlife Fund (WWF), and Ford Motor Company to send these ecoregion maps to every school in the United States. This Web site features these same maps, only with more interactive features. Select "Global 200: priority areas for conservation" to view some of the Earth's most endangered areas.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • WWF: Priority Species  
    Rating
    "This site supplies extensive information on the following endangered animals: African and Asian elephants; black, white, Indian, Javan and Sumatran rhinoceros; whales; brown and spectacled bears; marine turtles; gorilla; chimpanzee; bonobo; orangutan; and tiger. Each animal has an introductory report, sections on general biology, distribution, population, threats, conservation and research activities, legal status, captive breeding programs, and a bibliography of related reading references."
  • The Endangered Species Program  
    Rating
    Information and links from the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service. The site provides a list of current endangered species in the United States, species information, species in the spotlight, laws and policies relating to endangered species, publications, and local contacts.
  • UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre  
    Rating
    "The UNEP World Conservation Monitoring Centre was established in 2000 as the world biodiversity information and assessment centre of the United Nations Environment Programme." On this site you will find a database of species and habitat information, information on climate change, protected areas, international agreements, interactive conservation maps, and latest news and publications."
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip