Here are some great article databases that spread across many subjects. If you are looking for an article related to recreation and the economy or migration and US history, here is a great place to start.
Academic Search Elite, an EBSCO database, is a general academic index that indexes almost 3,000 magazines and journals from every academic discipline and provides the full-text of more than 1,200.
Time-span: 1984- (updated daily)
America: History and Life indexes and abstracts more than 1700 social science and humanities journals in the field of United States and Canadian history. (See Historical Abstracts for non-North American coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. Books and dissertations are included.
Coverage: Prehistory to the present.
Time-span: 1964- (updated monthly)
Historical Abstracts indexes and abstracts information in world history and the related social sciences and humanities, excluding the U.S. and Canada. (See America: History and Life for U.S. and Canadian coverage.) Links to full-text articles are included when available. It lists articles covering the years 1450 to the present, including approximately 1700 periodicals published in 90 countries in 40 languages. Collections of essays, conference papers, dissertations, and books are also included.
Time-span: 1955- (updated monthly)
The IBSS indexes the information contained in over 2,600 social sciences journals and 6,000 books each year. Coverage includes both core and specialized material from over 100 countries in more than 90 languages in the fields of economics, political science, sociology and anthropology. Approximately 70% of the records are in English.
Time-span: 1981- (updated quarterly)
JSTOR is a full-text journal database which provides access more than 500 titles in the fields of African-American studies, anthropology, architecture, Asian studies, biological sciences, botany, ecology, economics, education, film, finance, folklore, history, language, literature, mathematics, middle east studies, music, philosophy, political science, population/demography, religion, sociology, and statistics. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 3 to 5 years of the most current issue, depending on the title. The "moving wall" represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal; it is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR. Graphs, photographs, and other images are included. UW-Madison Libraries have acquired the following JSTOR collections ( details of coverage available): Arts & Sciences I; Arts & Sciences II; Arts & Sciences III, Arts and Sciences V; Business; Ecology & Botany; General Science; Language & Literature; Music.
Time-span: Dates Vary (updated irregularly)
LexisNexis Academic Universe is an online service composed of approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, most full text. It includes international and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Advertisements, obituaries, graphics, and non-local (syndicated) features are typically not included. Of particular interest are the New York Times, June 1980 -to date;The Wisconsin State Journal, 1992-to date; The Capital Times, 1992-to date; and The Milwaukee Journal/Sentinel, September 1995-to date. Years of coverage vary, but many sources begin with the late 1980's or early 1990's. Polls (from the Roper Center for Public Opinion) and the World Almanac are included in the Reference search category. See also ProQuest Newspapers.
Time-span: Dates vary. (Updated daily)
The Philosopher's Index contains citations and abstracts from books and more than 350 journals of philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields published in the U.S. and other western countries. Major philosophy journals in other languages are included since 1967. Subject coverage includes aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics, and the philosophy of related disciplines such as education, history, law, religion, and science.
Time-span: 1940- (updated quarterly)
ProQuest Research Library, indexes more than 2,000 periodicals, and provides the full text of nearly 1,000 of them. It has a mix of general interest and academic journals that cover the arts, business, education, health, humanities, psychology, sciences,
Social Sciences Full Text indexes more than 415 key periodicals in the fields of economics, politics and foreign affairs, public administration, public health, sociology, criminology, environmental and urban studies, psychology and anthropology. Feature articles are indexed, as are interviews, obituaries, biographies, and book reviews. There are abstracts beginning with 1994. Full-text articles from 112 journals have been added beginning with 1995.
Time-span: 1983- (updated monthly)
SocINDEX with Full Text includes full text for 397 "core coverage" sociology journals dating back to 1908 and 150 "priority coverage" journals. It also includes full text for more than 720 books and 6,743 conference papers. Abstracts for more than 800 journals are available back to 1895. In addition, SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 10,000 Author Profiles covering the most prolific, most cited, and most frequently searched for authors in the database. The database encompasses all sub-disciplines of sociology and closely related areas of study, including abortion, criminology & criminal justice, demography, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, political sociology, religion, rural & urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse & other addictions, violence and many others.
Time-span: 1895 -
The Web of Knowledge is a combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. It indexes more than 8,000 peer-reviewed journals, providing complete bibliographic data and author abstracts. Every item of significance is listed: articles, reviews, letters, notes, corrections, and editorials. In addition to access by author, title, and institution, it is also possible to search by cited authors and to find articles sharing one or more cited reference. It is possible to search the three databases independently or in any combination. Live links to electronic journals with full text are included for some publishers.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1982-)
Science Citation Index Expanded (1965-)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1982-)
For older years, see:
Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1980-1989)
Social Sciences Citation Index (1981-1985)
See also: Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Time-span: 1982- for SSCI and AHCI, 1965- for SCI
The Social Science Information Gateway (SOSIG) is a freely available Internet service which aims to provide a trusted source of selected, high quality Internet information for students, academics, researchers and practitioners in the social sciences, business and law. It is part of the UK Resource Discovery Network.
Note(s): Subject searches are done in All Fields.