Last Updated: Sep 19, 2014
or click for more options ...
This Research Guide will lead you to information on natural disasters
such as floods and severe storms. It also includes biological disasters
and transportation accidents.
Find background information on your research topic.
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
- Dartmouth Flood Observatory
Provides information about floods worldwide.
- FEMA: Preparedness
Web page created by the U.S. Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA). Provides list of types of disasters and links to FEMA publications.
- Hurricane/Tropical Data
Provides access to a wealth of hurricane information.
- National Drought Mitigation Center
Provides information about U.S. drought conditions.
- National Hurricane Center
Current and historical data from the National Weather Service.
- National Transportation Safety Board
This site offers data on current and historic accidents in the U.S. by transportation mode--aviation, highway, marine, rail, pipeline & hazardous materials.
- Natural Hazards Center
Comprehensive site designed "to advance and communicate knowledge on hazards mitigation and disaster preparedness, response, and recovery."
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
ReliefWeb is a project of the United Nations Department of Humanitarian Affairs. It includes frequently updated information about relief responses to natural disasters.