Getting Full Text
quickly links you to full text. Find It results link to:
- online full text (when available)
- an automatic search of MadCat to see if the journal is available in print in any campus library
- Request a Copy/Library Express to request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online.
Follow the
button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to quickly access the articles you want.
If you already have a citation, use this do-it-yourself
form to search for your article.
- How to Find a Specific Article
This video will walk you through the process of finding a specific article. Or, if you prefer, try this tipsheet
Manage your References
- RefWorks
RefWorks is web-based software for managing your citations. It is free to all faculty, staff and students at UW-Madison. - EndNote
EndNote is desktop citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication. - Zotero
Zotero is a free Firefox plug-in that allows you to save citations, documents and copies of web pages. It's easy to learn, but not robust enough to support writing large documents. - Compare RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero
Suggest a Database
Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for most agroecology topics...
Click on the
next to the database name to find out how to transfer references from that database to RefWorks or EndNote.
- CAB Abstracts

Leading scholarly database covering agriculture and natural resources worldwide. QuickGuide - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Leading environmental database, covers all aspects of pollution; ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, & water resources. Quickguide - Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)

Interdisciplinary database of articles from top scholarly journals. Quickguide
Latest Journal Issues
Latest Articles from Leading Journals
Follow the journal title link below to the see a list of new articles from that journal.
If you wish, you can also copy the link and add it to your own RSS newsreader (Bloglines, Google Reader, Netvibes, etc).
Learn more about RSS
More Article Databases
If your subject is more specialized, one of these databases may be helpful...
Click on the
next to the database name to find out how to transfer references from that database to RefWorks or EndNote.
- Agricola

Scholarly articles and US government reports about agriculture. QuickGuide - Agris

Agricultural database from the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations; most useful for finding FAO publications. - Biological Abstracts

Largest scholarly database for biology. QuickGuide - Econlit

Leading scholarly index for economics; covers over 300 English language periodicals and books. Quickguide - GEOBASE

Scholarly literature on geography, geology and ecology worldwide. Includes human geography, GIS and development studies. QuickGuide - Google Scholar (Advanced)

Interdisciplinary coverage of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities. Some important publishers are not included. Guide - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences

International coverage of scholarly literature in economics, political science, sociology and anthropology. QuickGuide">QuickGuide - JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

Archive of older scholarly journals in many subjects, including ecology, economics and sociology. It does not include articles published in the last 3-5 years. QuickGuide - SocINDEX

Leading sociology database. QuickGuide - Sociological Abstracts

Leading sociology database. QuickGuide - Zoological Record

Leading database covering zoology worldwide. QuickGuide - Even more databases
Find More Databases by Subject or by Name
Beverly Phillips |
Other Links
Keeping Current
Library databases and publishers offer personal accounts for saved searches, free email alerts, and RSS feeds to help you keep current with the literature.
Make an appointment with Beverly for help creating a targeted search and setting up alerts.
Description
Loading content... please wait

Submit a Link

Loading content... please wait