Last Updated: Nov 24, 2014
or click for more options ...
Apartheid is an Afrikaans word meaning "apartness." It refers to South Africa's doctrine and practice of racial segregation which began after elections in 1948 and continued until 1994. This Research Guide focuses on the historical development of Apartheid and the policy of resettling blacks to tribal homelands. It also includes the sociopolitical situation in South Africa today after Apartheid.
Find background information on your research topic.
- Credo Reference
A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
- On This Day, 29 October: 1998: Apartheid Report Accuses South Africa Leaders
Historical essay related to the publication in 1998 of the report of South Africa's Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) that "accused leading figures from across the political spectrum of human rights violations."
- Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
- South Africa - A Country Study
Online book from the Library of Congress includes "description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions" of South Africa.
- South Africa: Overcoming Apartheid, Building Democracy
This website presents first-hand accounts of "South Africa's successful struggle for freedom and democracy." Explore full interviews, chronological unites, essays, images, audio and video clips, and other material.
- The History of Apartheid in South Africa
Information presented by students at Stanford University's Computer Science Department.
- Truth and Reconciliation Commission of South Africa Report
Full text of this report (published in 1998, released in 2003) of the South African commission that investigated the amnesty process, human rights violations, and reparation and rehabilitation with respect to apartheid.