On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases with full text of US newspapers.
Also on this page on links to major US dailies and aggregated news sources.
In addition, there are links to historical US newspapers and newspaper collections.
Also included is information about places for US newspapers: Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Journalism Reading Room, and the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
MadCat Quicksearch
Search MadCat for a newspaper title (exact title search):
US Newspaper Sites
Free Web sites for major dailies and aggregated newspaper sources.
Newspapers at Other Institutions
Search these sources for newspapers at other institutions. Use Library Express to request newspapers held by these institutions. Newspapers likely to be on microfilm.
- WorldCat Search for newspapers (and other materials) at libraries around the world. Select Title Phrase from the drop down menu to search for a particular newspaper. Also search for newspapers published in or covering a a particular geographic area.
- Center for Research Libraries
Current US Newspaper Databases
Below is a list of databases for finding current newspaper content. Search these databases by keywords to find specific articles. Generally, content in these databases was published in the past 15-20 years to date. Pictures, advertisements, and special sections are often not included. Click on the i to access a title or source list.
- Alternative Press Index 1991 to date
Indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. - Alt-Press Watch
1970 to date
Full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion. - Factiva A source for business and financial news. Provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
- LexisNexis Academic
Dates vary.
International and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Ads, obituaries, graphics typically not included. - Library PressDisplay
Updated daily. 60-day backfile.
Online access to today's newspapers from around the world in full-color, full-page format. Currently includes 340+ titles from over 60 countries in over 35 languages. 60-day backfile; keyword search across all titles. - Newspaper Source Plus 1,520 full-text newspapers. Provides more than 28 million full-text articles. Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
Current Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in MadCat.
Current issues of U.S. and Wisconsin newspapers are also available in the Journalism Reading Room, 2130 Vilas Hall.
Current and historical newspapers are also available at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Historical US Newspapers Online
Digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are fully searchable and available in downloadable PDF files. The digitized newspapers include news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
- Atlanta Daily World,1931-2003 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Chicago Tribune, 1849-1985 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- New York Amsterdam News, 1905-1975 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- New York Times, 1851-2005 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
Historical US Newspapers Collections Online
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from more than 200 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922) Series 1-5 offers more than 140 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1880-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP). Dates of coverage will be gradually extended to eventually cover the historic period 1836-1922.
- Ethnic News Watch: A History Provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1960-1989.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Spanish and English language newspapers from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston. 350 titles dating from the 19th and 20th centuries from throughout the United States.
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com Fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns. Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700s and include titles from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom. Pages are reproduced in PDF format.
Wisconsin Historical Society Library Newspapers Collection
The Society Library owns 11,740 bound volumes, 100,000 reels of microfilm, and 17,000 sheets of microprint spanning three centuries of American newspaper history. Particular strengths include Wisconsin newspapers, colonial and early American newspapers west of the Appalachians, and the largest collection of labor and trade union papers in the nation.
The Library's holdings of 1960s "underground" or alternative newspapers are also extensive. Other areas of the collection that have attained national importance are Native American and African-American newspapers. Among rarities in the newspaper collection are the first African-American and Native American newspapers and the first Bohemian, Dutch, Norwegian, and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States.
To discover if the library owns a particular title, search MadCat. Also see MadCat Quick Search on this page.
More information about the Newspaper Collection at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Ask a Librarian
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait