On this Page
This page provides links to licensed databases with full text of alternate and ethnic news sources.
Also on this page is a link to the Web site, Alternet.
In addition, there are links to historical newspapers and newspaper collections.
Also included is information about the Wisconsin Historical Society's newspapers collections.
MadCat Quick Search
Search MadCat for a newspaper title (exact title search):
Alternative News Sites
Bibliographies/Lists
- African-American Newspapers and Periodicals: a National Bibliography - James P. Danky, editor ; Maureen E. Hady, associate editor.
Call Number: PN4882.5 A47 1998, Memorial Library Reference Stacks, 2 South (non-circulating) - Ethnic Newspapers: Guide to the Holdings of the State Historical Society of Wisconsin Library (1975). - compiled by Susan Bryl.
Call Number: Z6945 E75, Memorial Library Stacks Regular Size Shelving
Newspapers at Other Institutions
Search these sources for newspapers at other institutions. Use Library Express to request newspapers held by these institutions. Newspapers will likely be on microfilm.
- WorldCat Search for newspapers (and other materials) at libraries around the world. Select Title Phrase from the drop down menu to search for a particular newspaper. Also search for newspapers published in or covering a a particular geographic area.
- Center for Research Libraries
Alternative/Ethnic News Databases
- Alternative Press Index 1991 to date
Indexes approximately 300 alternative, radical, and left publications that report and analyze the practices and theories of cultural, economic, political, and social change. - Alt-Press Watch
1970 to date
Full text database of newspapers and periodicals from the alternative and independent press focusing on politics, government, art, the environment, labor, and religion. Includes The Isthmus from 2005. - Ethnic News Watch: A History Provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1960-1989.
- LexisNexis Academic
Dates vary.
International and U.S. newspapers, ethnic and regional news sources, magazines, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, company and industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts. Ads, obituaries, graphics typically not included.
Current Newspapers in Print
Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:
- Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
- Journals and newspapers by country of publication
- Journals and newspapers by primary language
Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in MadCat.
Current and historical newspapers are also available at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Historical Black Newspapers Online
For the newspapers available through ProQuest Historical Newspapers collections listed below, digital reproductions of every page and every article from every issue are fully searchable and available in downloadable PDF files. The digitized newspapers include news stories, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements.
- Atlanta Daily World,1931-2003 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Chicago Defender, 1905-1975 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Los Angeles Sentinel, 1934-2005 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Los Angeles Times, 1881-1985 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
- New York Amsterdam News, 1905-1975 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
- Pittsburgh Courier 1911-2002 (ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers)
Historical Newspapers Collections Online
- 19th Century U.S. Newspapers Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from more than 200 newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1922) Series 1-5 offers more than 140 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states.
- Ethnic News Watch: A History Provides coverage of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press for 1960-1989.
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980 Spanish and English language newspapers from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project at the University of Houston. 350 titles dating from the 19th and 20th centuries from throughout the United States.
- NewspaperARCHIVE.com Fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns. Years of coverage vary, but some newspapers go back as far as the 1700s and include titles from the U.S., Canada, and the United Kingdom. Pages are reproduced in PDF format.
Wisconsin Historical Society Library Newspapers Collections
The Society Library owns 11,740 bound volumes, 100,000 reels of microfilm, and 17,000 sheets of microprint spanning three centuries of American newspaper history. Particular strengths include Wisconsin newspapers, colonial and early American newspapers west of the Appalachians, and the largest collection of labor and trade union papers in the nation.
The Library's holdings of 1960s "underground" or alternative newspapers are also extensive. Other areas of the collection that have attained national importance are Native American and African-American newspapers. Among rarities in the newspaper collection are the first African-American and Native American newspapers and the first Bohemian, Dutch, Norwegian, and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States.
To discover if the library owns a particular title, search MadCat. Also see MadCat Quick Search on this page.
More information about the Newspaper Collection at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.
Ask a Librarian
Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room
The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).
Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.
Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait