Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Newspapers  Tags: newspapers reference  

Sources of current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microform through the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond.
Last update: Aug 21st, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/newspapers  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Wisconsin Newspapers            Print Page
  
 

On this Page

This page provides links to licensed databases for the full text of current and back issues of Wisconsin newspapers. 

It also provides links to current sites for aggregated news sources and dailies.

In addition, there is information about places for Wisconsin newspapers in the libraries including the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room and the Journalism Reading Room, and Wisconsin Historical Society Library. 

Search MadCat for holdings in campus libraries.

 

 

MadCat Quick Search

Search MadCat for a newspaper title (exact title search):

 

Find It

Locate a newspaper title or article when you have a citation using Find It.

Find It Link

WI Newspaper Sites

Web sites for aggregated news sources and single newspapers.

 

Databases for Wisconsin Newspapers

  • Factiva  
    A source for business and financial news. Provides access to almost 9000 business, trade, and general publications, including same day, full text access to the Wall Street Journal, Barron's, New York Times, Los Angeles Times and Washington Post.
  • LexisNexis Academic  
    Capital Times, Milwaukee Journal Sentinel, Wisconsin State Journal 1/1992-current.
  • NewspaperARCHIVE.com  
    Fully searchable newspaper pages from more than 400 cities and towns. Pages are reproduced in PDF format. Capital Times from 1917-1977. Wisconsin State Journal from 1852-1977. Selective coverage. Includes older titles now defunct.
  • Newspaper Source Plus  
    1,520 full-text newspapers. Provides more than 28 million full-text articles. Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others.
 

Current Newspapers in Print

Current issues of U.S., Canadian, and international newspapers are available in the Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room, Memorial Library, Room 240 (Where is it?). Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.

Current Periodicals and Newspapers Room staff maintains several paper lists of journals and newspapers to help users of the room locate what they need. Some of those lists are:

  • Alphabetical list of journals and newspapers
  • Journals and newspapers by country of publication
  • Journals and newspapers by primary language

Please note that these lists are only updated once a semester so while they can be helpful, the most up to date information will always be found in MadCat.

Current issues of U.S. and Wisconsin newspapers are also available in the Journalism Reading Room, 2130 Vilas Hall.

Current and historical newspapers are also available at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.

 

Wisconsin Historical Society Library Newspapers Collections

The Society Library owns 11,740 bound volumes, 100,000 reels of microfilm, and 17,000 sheets of microprint spanning three centuries of American newspaper history. Particular strengths include Wisconsin newspapers, colonial and early American newspapers west of the Appalachians, and the largest collection of labor and trade union papers in the nation.

The Library's holdings of 1960s "underground" or alternative newspapers are also extensive. Other areas of the collection that have attained national importance are Native American and African-American newspapers. Among rarities in the newspaper collection are the first African-American and Native American newspapers and the first Bohemian, Dutch, Norwegian, and Spanish language newspapers published in the United States.

To discover if the library owns a particular title search MadCat.  Also see MadCat Quick Search on this page.

More information about the Newspaper Collection at the Wisconsin Historical Society Library.

Search Local Newspapers

Click on Newspapers in Madison Public Library's catalog to search for citations to general articles and birth,death, and marriage announcements in area newspapers.

 
 

Ask a Librarian

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

or click for more options ...

 

Current Periodicals & Newspaper Room

The Current Periodicals and Newspaper Room is Room 240 of Memorial Library (Where is it?).

Current issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers and international newspapers are available there. Issues of U.S. and Canadian newspapers are generally kept for only one week, and issues of international newspapers are generally kept for only 3 months.

Staff are available to provide assistance during Memorial Library hours.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait