Microform Sets
These sets are all in the Memorial Library Microforms Media Center, Room 443. Request by Micro Number. There are Guides or Indexes to each collection, shelved in the Microforms Media Center by the Micro Number.
Schlesinger Library Vertical File for Women's Studies (1950-1990) is a massive microform set of clippings and other material collected by the Schlesinger Library on the History of Women in America, Radcliffe College. Micro Fiche 5357. The set has three parts: Biographies, Organizations, and Subjects. All are listed in the collection's Guide.
Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance archives, ca. 1972-1994 contains subject files (clippings, etc.) as well as magazines and newsletters and organizational files related to the ALFA itself as well as for several other organizations, including the Atlanta Socialist-Feminist Union, Orchid Productions/Lucinda Music, Womonwrites conference, and Radio Free Georgia women's programming. - Micro Film 11226.
Lesbian Herstory Archives subject files contains 150 microfilm reels on all aspects of lesbian life and concerns, from abortion to African-American lesbians, lesbian mothers, gay civil rights, women’s liberation movement, domestic partnership, older lesbians, and Native American lesbians, etc. The materials consist of clippings, flyers, brochures, conference materials, reports, correspondence, and other printed ephemera. Micro Fiche 11227,
Women in Health is a set from the Women’s History Research Center, Berkeley. It consists of clippings from newspapers, professional journals, alternative newspapers, academic research papers, theses, and conference speeches covering the years 1965-1974, documenting the women's health movement. Includes leaflets, poetry, and graphic material. Micro Film 11048. This set is also in the Ebling Library, M 95.
This set is in the Historical Society Library Microforms Room:
Herstory: Women's History Collection (1956-1974, mostly from 1968-1971), from the Women's History Research Center (later the Women's History Library), Berkeley, California. Hundreds of women's liberation newsletters, journals, and newspapers and related publications. Historical Society Library Microforms Room. Micro film P73-2601 P73-2623 23p, There are two parts to the Guide: PAM 74-874 and PAM 76-2577.
Organizations
To find publications from an organization (or material about the organization in books), do a "words anywhere" search in Madcat for the name of the organization, within quotation marks. Newsletters and other individual publications may turn up [sometimes grouped using the name of the organization as the author and "miscellaneous publications" as the title], as well as books or book chapters about the organization. Here are some examples in the Historical Library:
Redstockings of the Women’s Liberation Movement. Historical Society Library Pamphlet Collection 87_ 3486 Oversize
Archival (mostly unpublished) Material
The Wisconsin Historical Society Archives has several collections of personal papers of individual feminists and the records of feminist organizations. Many of these collections are from Wisconsin individuals and organizations. To find them, to a Guided Search in Arcat, the Archives catalog, for "feminism" or the phrase "women's rights" as words anywhere. Many of the collections have finding aids.
The Social Action Vertical File (1960-2002) is in the Wisconsin Historical Society Archives. The majority of the collection dates from the 1960's and 1970's, and pertains to the civil rights and anti-Vietnam War movements of the period, although there is also material generated by a wide range of liberal, black nationalist, feminist, peace, socialist, communist, labor, and other contemporary social action groups.The majority of the collection dates from the 1960's and 1970's, and pertains to the civil rights and anti-Vietnam War movements of the period, although there is also material generated by a wide range of liberal, black nationalist, feminist, peace, socialist, communist, labor, and other contemporary social action groups. Search the Finding Aid to locate feminist material.
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 database includes several projects on Second Wave feminism.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait