On This Page
- Core Article Databases
- Landscape Architecture & Design
- Ecology & Restoration
- Historic Preservation
- Landscape Architects
- Getting Full Text
- Manage your References
- Suggest a Database
Manage your References
- RefWorks RefWorks is web-based software for managing your citations. It is free to all faculty, staff and students at UW-Madison.
- EndNote EndNote is desktop citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication.
- Zotero Zotero [zoh-TAIR-oh] is a free, easy-to-use Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources. It lives right where you do your work — in the web browser itself.
- Which is the right one for you? For your students? Match the tool to the ways you work.
- Compare Citation Managers
Getting Full Text
quickly links you to full text. Find It results link to:
- online full text (when available)
- an automatic search of MadCat to see if the journal is available in print in any campus library
- Request a Copy/Library Express to request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online.
Follow the
button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to quickly access the articles you want.
If you already have a citation, use this do-it-yourself
form to search for your article.
- How to Find a Specific Article
This video will walk you through the process of finding a specific article. Or, if you prefer, try this tipsheet
Suggest a Database
Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for most landscape architecture topics...
Click on the
next to the database name to find out how to transfer references from that database to RefWorks or EndNote.
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals

The primary architecture index in North America; good coverage of articles in landscape architecture and city planning. . QuickGuide - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Leading environmental database, covers all aspects of pollution; ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, & water resources. Quickguide - Web of Science (Web of Knowledge)

Landscape Architecture & Design
For help finding subject headings for literature searches, try Art & Architecture Thesaurus Online
- Art Full Text

Surveys about 450 English-language journals; indexes key landscape architecture journals; particularly useful for locating papers on key landscape architects. QuickGuide - Design and Applied Arts Index

Covers over 500 design and craft journals and newspapers, including environmental design. QuickGuide - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Leading environmental database, covers all aspects of pollution; ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, & water resources. Quickguide - GreenFILE

Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc. QuickGuide
Ecology & Restoration
- Agricola

Scholarly articles and US government reports about agriculture. QuickGuide - Biological Abstracts

Largest scholarly database for biology. QuickGuide - CAB Abstracts

Leading scholarly database covering agriculture and natural resources worldwide. QuickGuide - Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management

Leading environmental database, covers all aspects of pollution; ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, & water resources. Quickguide - GEOBASE

- GreenFILE

Covers all aspects of human impact on the environment. Includes global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, etc. QuickGuide - JSTOR: The Scholarly Journal Archive

Archive of older scholarly journals in many subjects, including ecology, economics and sociology. It does not include articles published in the last 3-5 years. QuickGuide - Urban Studies Abstracts

Journal articles on essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history. QuickGuide
Historic Preservation
- American Landscape and Architectural Design

Library of Congress American Memory site, a collection of lantern slides presenting views of American buildings and landscapes during the time period. Search by keywords or browse by subject. - America: History and Life (EBSCO)

Historical database with emphasis on United States and Canadian History. - Art Index Retrospective

- Digital Library for the Decorative Arts and Material Culture (UWDC)

Searchable facsimiles of 18th-20th century source materials on topics including domestic architecture and landscape gardening - Index to Nineteenth Century American Art Periodicals (OCLC)

Landscape Architects
- Art Full Text

Surveys about 450 English-language journals; indexes key landscape architecture journals; particularly useful for locating papers on key landscape architects. QuickGuide - Biography and Genealogy Master Index (Gale)

Citations to over 4000 current and historical persons including renowned landscape architects. - Current Biography (Wilson)

Full-text biographies and obituaries of more than 15,000 people that have appeared in Current Biography Yearbook since 1940. Includes well-known landscape architects, planners, and designers.
Beverly Phillips |
Description
Loading content... please wait



Submit a Link

Loading content... please wait