On This Page
Repository/Database Categories
- General
- Art
- Mass Communication
- Music
- Textiles
Suggest a Link!
General
- ConnexionsRice University collection that allows users to “view and share” collections of learning materials, and create their own.
- Gateway to 21st Century SkillsThis website contains learning objects and educational materials for higher education and K-12. They can be searched by type of material, subject matter, grade level, etc.
- Internet ArchiveIt contains free Open Educational Resources (lectures, etc), free, copyright-less films, audio, software, and texts.
- Library of Congress Digital CollectionsThese collections focus on a variety of topics including American history, photography, advertising, and historic newspapers.
- MerlotOne of the largest peer-reviewed learning objects repositories. It contains learning objects from faculty, staff, and students from universities around the world.
- MIT Open Course Ware ProjectThis project contains course materials from nearly 2,000 MIT classes, as well as supplemental resources created by instructors from MIT and other universities.
- OERContains both K-12 and college-level learning objects, news stories about digital education, and other tools for creating learning objects.
- WiscOnlineWisconsin Technical College System’s educational and learning objects database allows users to search and create learning objects with their GameBuilder system.
Art Learning Objects/Databases
- ArtStorThis is a general art image database that contains extremely high quality images and has a viewer that allows for extreme close-ups.
- Arts & Humanities Images and Sounds ResourcesPartial list of resources available from the UW Madison Libraries.
- Image Projects and Clearinghouse of Image DatabasesMaintained by University of Arizona Library.
- Cataloging Project for 20th C Works in French Museums & Collections.
- SPIRO (Slide and Photograph Retrieval Online)Visual online catalog of the Architecture Slide and Photograph Library, Department of Architecture, University of California at Berkeley. Part of the UC Berkeley Museum Informatics Project.
- The Piero Project/ECIT--Electronic Compendium of Images and TextFrom Princeton University. WWW version
- WebMuseum(formerly WebLouvre).
- Web Gallery of ArtVirtual museum and searchable database of European painting and sculpture of the Gothic, Renaissance and Baroque periods (1150-1800).
- Christian art and architectureFrom the organization Christus Rex et Redemptor Mundi.
- Fine Arts Museums of San Francisco.Committed to making their entire collection available online, the Thinker ImageBase currently provides a searchable index of more than 82,000 objects.
- Image Search at Yahoo!
- Image Search at Google
Mass Communication
- Ad*Access (Duke University)This collection contains over 7,000 American and Canadian advertising and promotion images from 1911-1955. It focuses on radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and Wrld War II.
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850-1920 (Duke University)This collection contains over 9,000 advertising and promotion images that are allowed to be reproduced by scholars without prior permission, as long as they properly attribute the images.
- The Living Room Candidate (Museum of the Moving Image)This website contains presidential television commercials from 1952 to today.
Music Learning Objects/Databases
- College of the South’s Collection of Music Learning ObjectsThis collection focuses on classical music composers
- Wesleyan’s Virtual Instrument MuseumThis site contains photos and information about instruments from around the world, as well as an interactive map.


![[logo] Crest of the University of Wisconsin-Madison](http://library.wisc.edu/images/crest.png)
![[logo] Ask a Librarian](http://library.wisc.edu/images/ask.png)
Submit
Loading...
