Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

LGBTQ Studies Resources at UW-Madison  Tags: lgbt lesbian gay transgendered bisexual queer gender  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/LGBT_Studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Literature & Arts             Print Page
  
 

Lang. and Literature

Literature Resource Center (database)
Includes information on many authors and literary works taken from Gay & Lesbian Literature (1998),  Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, Contemporary Literary Criticism, and other sources.  Also includes full-text articles from more than 130 literary journals, including Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide (since 2000), a dictionary of literary terms, and links to 5,000 relevant Web sites and special collections.

 MLA Bibliography (database)
Modern Language Association's index to journals, books, and book chapters in literature, language, linguistics, film, and folklore. Use Find-It to find the actual article or book.

Literary Criticism Online (database)
Includes articles from a series of reference works issued annually, including Contemporary Literary Criticism, Twentieth Century Literary Criticism, Poetry Criticism, Short Story Criticism, Drama Criticism and other titles. Search for authors or topics.

Little Magazine Interview Cumulative Index
This is an index prepared at UW-Madison to author interviews in small literary magazines from the United States, Great Britain, Canada, and Australia/New Zealand, mostly in the 20th century. The magazines themselves are found in the Little Magazines Collection, Department of Special Collections, Memorial Library.

 
 

LGBT Life With Fulltext

LGBT Life with Fulltext
Fulltext of numerous LGBT periodicals and books, plus indexing of hundreds more. Contains reviews of books, films, etc. Good choice for any LGBT topic.

 

All Topics in the Humanities (Art, Film, Literature, Music, etc.)

JSTOR (database)
Fulltext backfile from first volume of hundreds of scholarly journals up until 3-5 years ago, depending on license with each publisher. Because many of the journals are older, be sure to search for "homosexual" as well as gays and lesbians.

Project Muse (database)
Fulltext articles in the humanities and social sciences, including GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies (since 1999), Journal of the History of Sexuality (since 2001), several women's studies journals, many literary and history journals, and much more.

Humanities Fulltext (database)
Indexes journals in archaeology, area studies, art, classical studies, communications, dance, film, folklore, history, journalism, linguistics, literary & social criticism literature, music, performing arts, philosophy, and religion. Includes  fulltext articles from Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide

Queering the Arts section of QueerTheory.com
Annotated listing of LGBT sites in art, dance, music, literature, film, theater, and more.

Voice of the Shuttle website and database for the humanities.
Browse the "Queer Studies" section, or use the search box to search across all items in the database.

 

Communication/Mass Media

Communication and Mass Media Complete (database)
A mixture of indexed and fulltext articles. Includes several journals in advertising, film studies, speech, and media studies. Includes Feminist Media Studies in fulltext (one year delay). Useful to look for articles on the image of gays in advertising, television, etc.

 

Religion

LGBT Religious Archives Network
Includes biographical sketches, oral histories, online exhibits, and information on LGBT collections in archives.

LGBT Issues in Religion Bibliography is a pdf of about 200 pages. If you are only interested in recent titles, access "2000 to the Present." The bibliography was created for Emory University’s Religion and Sexuality Initiative by William Holden, LGBT Studies Librarian Andrew Buechel, Doctoral Candidate.

 

Women's Studies Librarian

Profile ImagePhyllis Holman Weisbard
Contact Info:
Women's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library, 728 State Street, Madison, WI 53706
608-263-5754
Send Email

Subjects:
Women's Studies

 

Art

Art Fulltext (database)
Indexes journals and museum bulletins covering archaeology, architecture, art history, crafts, decorative arts, graphic arts,industrial and interior design, landscape architecture, museology, and film, video and photography.

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait