Books on LGBT History
Out for Good: the Struggle to Build a Gay Rights Movement in America
Call Number: HQ76.8 U5 C58 1999 in College and Memorial Libraries
ISBN/ISSN: 0684867435; 0684810913
Come Out Fighting: A Century of Essential Writing on Gay and Lesbian Liberation
Call Number: HQ76.8 U5 C66 2001 in the LGBT Campus Center stacks and Memorial Library
ISBN/ISSN: 1560253258
Gay Life and Culture: a World History
Call Number: HQ76 G329 2006 in College and Memorial Libraries
ISBN/ISSN: 0789315114
Who’s who in gay and lesbian history: from antiquity to World War II
ISBN/ISSN: 0415159822
This is an E-Book within the Credo Reference E-Book package.
Databases Useful for Historical Research
America: History and Life
Indexes articles in American history journals.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles on non-U.S. history.
In the First Person
Indexes letters, diaries, oral histories, and personal narratives on the web and in databases from Alexander St. Press (available on all UW System campuses). Search "lesbian," "gay," "homosexual," etc.
Who's Who in Gay and Lesbian History (in Credo Reference database)
612 biographies, with references, on figures in politics, social activism, culture and the arts, medicine, religion and other fields throughout Europe, North and South America, South Africa and Australasia.
Websites
LGBT History packet from the Gay Straight Alliance for Safe Schools, Madison, WI, includes resources on U.S., German, and Wisconsin LGBT history.
Outhistory.org has exhibits, timelines, articles, and links to many other sites.
Queer History Resources section of QueerTheory.com.
The Milwaukee LGBT History Project website includes biographies of individuals and descriptions of organizations, businesses, media, and events in the history of the community.
Gay Peoples Union Collection
Digitized selections from the records of the most important gay and lesbian rights organization in Milwaukee during the 1970s. The digital collection also includes a complete run of the monthly GPU News (1971-1981). The digital collection is part of the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections. The original collection is housed in the Archives, UW-Milwaukee Library. The Archives Department also has a Guide to other LGBT local collections.
Microfilm Sets
The Atlanta Lesbian Feminist Alliance archives, ca. 1972-1994 contains subject files (clippings) as well as magazines and newsletters and records related to the ALFA itself.
Gay Activism in Britain from 1958: the Hall-Carpenter archives: from the London School of Economics
Contains organizational material, papers of prominent individuals, ephemera, publications, and press-cuttings.
Lesbian Herstory Archives subject files
150 microfilm reels on all aspects of lesbian life and concerns, from abortion to African-American lesbians, lesbian mothers, gay civil rights, women’s liberation movement, domestic partnership, older lesbians, and Native American lesbians, etc. The materials consist of clippings, flyers, brochures, conference materials, reports, correspondence, and other printed ephemera.
Women's Studies Librarian |
Phyllis Holman WeisbardWomen's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library, 728 State Street, Madison, WI 53706
608-263-5754
Send Email
Subjects:
Women's Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait