Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

LGBTQ Studies Resources at UW-Madison  Tags: lgbt lesbian gay transgendered bisexual queer gender  

Last update: Sep 17th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/LGBT_Studies  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles (General Searches)             Print Page
  
 

E-Journals

To browse a list of periodicals available in fulltext, use the "E-Journals on the Libraries' homepage. Do a search for titles containing "gay". To find a few others without "gay" in their titles, do repeat searches for "lesbian," "bisexual," "transgender" and "queer."

Click on the Find-It link to access the periodicals.

 

Newspaper/Magazine Websites

The Advocate
News items online since 2001

Bay Area Reporter, San Francisco
News items online since 2005

Bay Windows, Boston/New England

Behind the Mask is an LGBT magazine from South Africa

Curve (lesbian magazine)

Gay News Blog

Lavender: Minnesota's GLBT Magazine

National Gay News.Com

New York Blade
News items online since 2003

Quest Magazine (Gay Wisconsin News)

Washington Blade
News items online since 2003

Windy City Times, Chicago
News items online since 1998

 
 

Databases for News, Current Events, and Most General Searches

 These databases are useful for searches on most LGBT topics:

Search across two general databases and three gender-specific databases all at once:

 

QuickSearch for


or, search these individually:

 

 LGBTLife with Fulltext
Fulltext of numerous LGBT periodicals and books, plus indexing of hundreds more.

GenderWatch
Includes in fulltext The Advocate, Gay & Lesbian Review Worldwide, Journal of Lesbian Studies, Journal of Homosexuality, the Lambda Book Review, and many other gender-related academic journals as well as gender-related magazines and newspapers. Some of the periodicals are indexed, but not available in fulltext in Genderwatch.

Women's Studies International
Indexes thousands of books, articles, reports, and more. Especially useful for lesbian-related searches.

JSTOR
Fulltext backfile from first volume of hundreds of scholarly journals up until 3-5 years ago, depending on license with each publisher. Because many of the journals are older, be sure to search for "homosexual" as well as gays and lesbians.

Project Muse
Fulltext articles in the humanities and social sciences, including GLQ: A Journal of Gay and Lesbian Studies (since 1999), Journal of the History of Sexuality (since 2001), several women's studies journals, many literary and history journals, and much more.

IngentaConnect
Free searching of tables of contents of thousands of periodicals. Ingenta sells the individual articles -- use Find-IT instead, to get them at no charge to you.

 

 

Women's Studies Librarian

Profile ImagePhyllis Holman Weisbard
Contact Info:
Women's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library, 728 State Street, Madison, WI 53706
608-263-5754
Send Email

Subjects:
Women's Studies

 

Websites

GLBTQ: an Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Culture

QueerTheory.com

BiNetUSA and the American Institute of Bisexuality are two resources on bisexuality.

GenderTalk links to numerous transgender information websites, as well as several LGBT, Intersex, Women's and other activist sites.

Trans database of book, book chapter, article, and web citations, from Trans-Academics.org

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait