Some Important Books
These books offer good starting points to explore topics in LGBT Studies:
- GLBTQ: Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender & Queer Encyclopedia
A free online encyclopedia of GLBT culture.
Handbook of Lesbian & Gay Studies
Call Number: HQ75.15 H36 2002 in Memorial Library
ISBN/ISSN: 0761965114
Lesbian and Gay Studies: an Introductory, Interdisciplinary Approach
Call Number: HQ75.15 L468 2000 in Memorial Library
ISBN/ISSN: 076195418X
Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
Call Number: HQ76.3 U5 E53 2004 in College and Memorial REFERENCE
ISBN/ISSN: 0684312611
Books in Other UW System Libraries
All UW System libraries have books on LGBTQ topics. To expand your search, select "UW System"below the search box on the opening screen of the Libraries' website. If you are already in a Madcat record, click on "Try UW System Search" in the action box.
Books in LGBT Life Database
The database LGBT Life with Fulltext has over 100 books in full, including Bisexuality & Transgenderism: InterSEXions of the Others, Brief History of GAY, Canada’s First Gay Tabloid, Changing Men & Masculinities in Latin America, Classics in Lesbian Studies, Gay Science: The Ethics of Sexual Orientation Research, Handbook of Research with Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual & Transgender Populations, Queer Theory & Social Change, Toward Stonewall: Homosexuality & Society in the Modern Western World, Homosexuality, Law, and Resistance, and Willa Cather and Others.
Subject Headings
To find BOOKS, use MADCAT.
MADCAT (and some databases) use Library of Congress Subject Headings to describe books and other material in their catalogs. It is usually easiest to start with "Words Anywhere" but 'subject heading word" searches are also useful. Subject heading terminology is often a bit behind current preferred terms. Here are some LGBTQ subject headings and patterns to follow:
General terms:
Bisexual men [Bisexual women]
Gays
Homosexuality (country); Homosexuality and... (art) (dance) (education) (employment) (literature) (motion pictures) (religion)
Lesbians
Transgender people
Transsexuals
Queer theory
For ethnicities, races, religions, nationalities and other groupings:
African American gays (pattern works for Asian American gays, Jewish gays, etc.) [African American lesbians]
Gays--United States (pattern is "Gays--(country) [Lesbians--United States]
Rural gay men [Rural lesbians]
For occupations:
Lesbian artists
Gay coaches
Gay politicians
Gay teachers
Lesbian clergy
Lesbian teachers
Transsexual librarians
Law-Related:
Gay rights
Gays--Legal status, laws, etc. [Lesbians--Legal status, laws, etc.]
Same-sex marriage--Law and legislation
Literature, Media, and the Arts
Bisexuality in motion pictures
Bisexuals' writing
Gay authors
Gays--Fiction
Gays in literature
Gender identity in music
Homosexuality--Fiction
Homosexuality and art
Homosexuality on television
Lesbian pulp fiction
Lesbianism in literature
Transsexuals--Fiction
Psychology, Sociology, Health:
AIDS (Disease)
Abused lesbians
Gay bars
Gay culture
Gender identity disorders
Homophobia
Intersex people
Lesbian communities
Sex roles
Sexual minorities
Sexuality and culture
Social work with gay youth
Lesbian Studies Core Books
The Women's Studies Core Books Database, a project of the Women's Studies Section of the Association of College and Research Libraries and housed at the University of Wisconsin, has a category "Lesbian Studies." Click on "Search the Collection," and then on "Lesbian Studies" from the subject groupings to see a list of core titles in this field. This category is maintained by Lisa Saywell, UW-Madison.
Women's Studies Librarian |
Phyllis Holman WeisbardWomen's Studies Librarian, University of Wisconsin System
430 Memorial Library, 728 State Street, Madison, WI 53706
608-263-5754
Send Email
Subjects:
Women's Studies
Book Reviews
International Gay & Lesbian Review (website)
Lambda Book Report (accessible in GenderWatch)
LGBT Book, Film and Video Blog
Rainbow Reviews
Site includes Guidelines for what might be selected for review.
For general sources of book reviews, see the Book Reviews in the Humanities and Social Sciences Research Guide.
Recommended Reading Lists
GLBT Literature: Resources site includes a list of recommended GLBT Books, numerous "best glbt book lists" (scroll down the page to this section), and many more useful links, such as to a Gay Short Fiction Index, maintained by by George K. Huber. The GLBT Literature site is the home of The Gay & Lesbian Reading Group, New York City.
Indigenous Literature with a Queer/LGBT Two-Spirit Sensibility, by David Eberly
Recommended Reading for Teens, from the San Francisco Public Library, is one source for young adults. Another is Pinkbooks.
Stonewall Book Awards, made annually since 1971, sponsored by the American Library Association's Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, and Transgendered Round Table. The Roundtable also has many bibliographies.
TRANScending Identities: A Bibliography of Resources on Gender Variance, Transgender, and Intersex Topics, from the San Francisco Public Library.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait