E-Book Collections
- ASM Handbooks Online
Full-text searchable; collection includes Metals Handbook and Engineered Materials Handbook - EngNetBase Engineering Handbooks Online
1,000+ full-text searchable titles. - Knovel Engineering & Scientific Online Reference Collection
1,000+ full-text searchable titles. Interactive tables, graphs, graph digitizers, equation plotters. - The National Academies Press
4,000+ publications. Includes titles in earth sciences, energy & conservation, engineering & technology, environment & environmental studies, transportation & infrastructure, policy for science & technology - NetLibrary
Select titles in engineering & allied operations, economics of land & energy, management, sanitary & municipal engineering
Featured Titles
at Wendt Library
Intelligent infrastructure : neural networks, wavelets, and chaos theory for intelligent transportation systems and smart structures - Hojiat Adeli
Call Number: TA345 A329 2009
ISBN/ISSN: 1420085360
Recent estimates hypothesize that the US will need $1.6 trillion dollars for rehabilitation, replacement, and maintenance of existing infrastructure systems within the next 20 years. Presenting a new vision and way of designing and managing the civil infrastructure of the nation, this text introduces novel technologies, methods, and detailed computational algorithms for the creation of smart structures and intelligent freeways. Cutting across the disciplines of structural and transportation engineering, it provides a unique treatise for attacking and solving some of the most complex and intractable problems encountered in the emerging fields of smart structures and intelligent transportation systems. (Amazon.com overview)
Natural processes and systems for hazardous waste treatment - Say Kee Ong ... [et al.]
Call Number: TD1060 N386 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0784409390
New chemical compounds are constantly being created to meet specific industrial applications and for human uses. Release of these compounds into the environment is inevitable and their contamination of natural resources, as well as their effect on human health, remain an important global ecological concern. Many compounds degrade in the presence of various natural processes, so there is a need to understand whether new compounds will persist in the environment or will eventually break down innocuously. Natural Processes and Systems for Hazardous Waste Treatment discusses the various natural processes for the attenuation and degradation of hazardous compounds and these processes application in inexpensive natural systems. Major attenuation processes that are covered include: sorption and sequestration, biodegradation and assimilation processes, photo-processes, phyto-processes, oxidation-reduction, and physical processes. Extensive up-to-date references are presented, as are numerous illustrations, tables, and case studies. This book will serve as a reference for undergraduate or graduate students, as well as for practicing professionals. (from Amazon)
Environmentally Conscious Transportation - Myer Kutz
Call Number: HE147.65 E585 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0471793698
The fifth volume of the Wiley Series in Environmentally Conscious Engineering, Environmentally Conscious Transportation provides a foundation for understanding and implementing methods for reducing the environmental impact of a wide range of transportation modes, from private automobiles (with a separate chapter on biofuels) to heavy trucks and buses to rail and public transportation systems to aircraft.
Composites for Construction: structural design with FRP materials - Lawrence C. Bank
Call Number: TA455 P55 B36 2006
ISBN/ISSN: 0471681261
The first textbook on the design of FRP for structural engineering applications. Composites for Construction is a one-of-a-kind guide to understanding fiber-reinforced polymers (FRP) and designing and retrofitting structures with FRP. Written and organized like traditional textbooks on steel, concrete, and wood design, it demystifies FRP composites and demonstrates how both new and retrofit construction projects can especially benefit from these materials, such as offshore and waterfront structures, bridges, parking garages, cooling towers, and industrial buildings. (from Amazon)
Diana Wheeler |
Diana WheelerContact Info:
Room 217
Kurt F. Wendt Library
215 N. Randall Ave.
Madison, WI 53706
Send Email
Subjects:
civil and environmental engineering; geotechnical/geological engineering;transportation; atmospheric, oceanic and space science, engineering professional development, technical communication, information literacy, research process
Room 217
Kurt F. Wendt Library
215 N. Randall Ave.
Madison, WI 53706
Send Email
Subjects:
civil and environmental engineering; geotechnical/geological engineering;transportation; atmospheric, oceanic and space science, engineering professional development, technical communication, information literacy, research process
Google Books
Description
Loading content... please wait


Loading content... please wait