Definition
What is a Patent?
A patent is a grant of property right by the government to an inventor preventing others from making, using, or selling an invention for a period of 20 years from application date.
Get Patent Help!
Set up an appointment with Nancy Spitzer or Amy Kindschi
OR
Drop in at the 2nd floor Reference Desk
Nancy - spitzer@engr.wisc.edu Amy - kindschi@engr.wisc.edu
Call
Nancy - (608) 265-9802 Amy - (608) 262-9405
Wendt Reference Desk (608) 262-0696
Wendt - askwendt@engr.wisc.edu
More on Patents
For more information on patents and patent searching, see the full patents' research guide.
Patent Databases
USPTO Patent Full Text Database
- Search full text of US patents from 1976 to the present
- Retrieve patent images 1790-present using Patent Number Search or Classification number search
- Search US Patent Applications from same page (use the right-hand box)
- Patent images are in TIFF format (must download a free TIFF viewer, AlternaTIFF)
- Worldwide patent database with over 60 million patent documents from 81 countries
- Patent documents in the language of the issuing country, but at least 5 million have a searchable English abstract
- Includes US patents and applications searchable by keyword in title and abstract
- Patent images are in PDF
- Patent data can be exported to Excel (from results and from My Patents List)
- Keyword searching of all US patents from 1790 to present & US applications 2001 to present
- See full patent image with search terms highlighted
- PDF image available
- Can search within a patent
- Access to all US patents and patent applications and partial European data
- Free PDF downloading
- Free account features such as RSS feeds
Patenting for UW Researchers and Students
Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF)
- Serves the University of Wisconsin-Madison scientific community
- Patents the discoveries of UW-Madison researchers
- Licenses technologies to leading companies in Wisconsin, the United States and worldwide
UW-Madison Graduate School - Intellectual Property policies and procedures
UW Office of Corporate Relations Connects the resources of the university with the business community
UW College of Engineering Innovation Days Information for students on the Schoofs Prize for Creativity and the Tong Prototype Competition
Wiscontrepreneur A new grant-funded program to support and enhance entrepreneurial activities throughout the UW-Madison curriculum.
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait