Navigation
- GIC Home
Grants Information Collection Web site Home Page - About the GIC
Mission, Vision, and Location of the Grants Information Collection - Foundation Center
Nation's leading authority on Philanthropy, Grants, and Giving. - Foundation Center Cooperating Collections
Lists "Grants Research" collections throughout the United States
Ask A Librarian
Federal Funding Proposals
- Developing And Writing Grant Proposals
A must-read for those applying for federal grants. By the staff of the Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance. - EPA Grantwriting Tutorial
An online tutorial from Purdue University in collaboration with the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. - Grants.gov: Applicant Resources
Includes Developing a Grant Proposal from the CFDA (above) plus terminology proposal writing links, links to application packages, grantmaking agencies, types of grants, and more. - How to Develop and Write a Grant Proposal
This report is intended for Members and staff assisting grant seekers in districts and states, and it includes writing proposals for both government and private foundations grants.
Non-Governmental Funding Proposals
The following web sites offer excellent guidelines for grant proposal writing. Some include advice on letters of inquiry and sample proposals as well.
- The Grant Proposal
Excellent advice from the ASME: American Society of Mechanical Engineers. - Grant Proposal Writing Tips
Some good, clearly-stated tips from the Corporation for Public Broadcasting, which reviews hundreds of proposals a year. - GrantProposal.com
Well organized site on proposal writing. Includes an overview, inquiry and cover letters, standard components of a proposal, a sample proposal, advice from funders, and more. An excellent section on researching funding opportunities is included also. - How to Write a Mission Statement
A clear outline by Janet M. Radtke on writing a mission statement for an organization. A site of the Los-Angeles based Grantsmanship Center. (pdf) - National Network of Grantmakers: NNG Common Grant Application
This common grant application form is accepted by a number of foundations. It can also be useful in organizing the information needed in a project proposal. (pdf) - Nonprofit Guides: Grant Writing Tools for Nonprofit Organizations
An excellent grantwriting outline by the SeaCoast Web Design staff. Includes sample grant proposal, inquiry letter, proposed budget, applications and links to grantwriting resources. - The Foundation Center's Proposal Writing Short Course
Free, online course. - The Foundation Center's Proposal Budgeting Basics
Free, online course. - Foundation Center Webinars on Proposal Writing Basics
Free; must register in advance. - The Foundation Center's Guide to Proposal Writing, 5th ed. - An Audio Book!
Free audio book from the Foundation Center. Listen online now or download for later listening. - Sample Grant Proposals
Proposals from the Idea Bank's Grant Writing Course. Most are successfully funded, and are for funding for fire departments. - School Grants
Offers a number of education-focused, successful, sample proposals. Most are directed to corporate or government funding sources and are downloadable in PDF format. - Winning Grant Proposals Online
Provides funded grant proposals for sale in a variety of categories. Particularly well-stocked with federal grant proposals. A site from the Grantsmanship Center, a Los-Angeles based proposal training center. - Wisconsin Common Application Form (Donors Forum of Wisconsin)
A form used by a variety of Wisconsin grantmakers. - Writing a Successful Grant Proposal
An excellent and thorough guide for writing grant proposals, from the Minnesota Council on Foundations. FAQs include pros and cons of hiring a professional grantwriter and what to do if a proposal is funded.
Research Funding Proposals
- All About Grants Tutorials
For biomedical investigators applying for NIH research project grants. Maintained by its National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases. - Guide for Writing a Funding Proposal
Written by S. Joseph Levine of Michigan State University. Offers excellent advice on all parts of the proposal. Includes a sample proposal and links to other proposal writing sites. - Proposal Writer's Guide
An excellent outline by Donald Thackrey for academic faculty and staff. Especially useful. A site maintained by the University of Michigan's Division of Research and Development Administration. - Proposal Preparation and Submission
A site maintained by the University of Michigan's Division of Research and Development Administration. - Proposal Writing: Selected Web Sites
Outstanding. Provides essential links for university scholars and researchers needing more than here on research funding in particular.
Subject Guide |
Nikki BuschOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
262 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Send Email
Subjects:
Grants, Scholarships, Fellowships, Nonprofits, Research
![]() |
Contact Info:
262 Memorial Library
728 State Street
Madison, WI 53706
Send Email
Subjects:
Grants, Scholarships, Fellowships, Nonprofits, Research
GIC News

Loading RSS Feed...
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait