Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Company Research  Tags: public_companies  

This guide describes sources of information on public, private and international companies.
Last update: Nov 05th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/companyresearch  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Directories             Print Page
  
 

Research Help

During the fall and spring semesters, Reference Librarians are available:

  • Monday: 9 am to 10 pm
  • Tuesday: 9 am to 10 pm
  • Wednesday: 9 am to 10 pm
  • Thursday: 9 am to 9 pm
  • Friday: 9 am to 8 pm
  • Saturday: 1 to 6 pm
  • Sunday: 1 to 10 pm

Business Library Reference Desk: Room 2200 Grainger Hall 608-265-6202

Ask Business - email a Business Reference Librarian

 
 

Why Use a Directory?

Directories are useful for determining whether a company is publicly traded, a private entity or a subsidiary of a larger company.

They provide basic company information such as address, phone and fax numbers, nature of the business, number of employees, names of officers, sales figures and industry codes.

Industry codes are used to identify individual industries. There are 2 systems:

SIC (Standard Industrial Classification) codes are an older system of 4 digit codes. Some books and databases are still using this outdated system. SIC codes can be found in the Standard Industrial Classification Manual in the Business Library Reference Collection, HF1042 S73 1987

NAICS (North American Industry Classification System) codes are 6 digits and define industries with more specificity than SIC codes. NAICS codes are available online and in the Business Library Reference Collection, HF 1042 N6.

Directories are also useful for identifying competitors within an industry.

 

National & International Directories

OneSource supplies detailed information on over 14 million companies worldwide. The database includes public and private companies as well as subsidiaries. It is available on and off campus to UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.

Hoovers provides detailed information on public and private companies in the U.S. and internationally. It is available on and off campus to UW-Madison students, faculty and staff.

D&B Million Dollar Database enables you to search for U.S. companies in a variety of ways and provides basic company information. It does not include international companies. It is available on and off campus to UW-Madison students, faculty and staff, but is limited to one simultaneous user.

IndustryNet - Searchable database of 640,000 manufacturers and suppliers from Manufacturers' News, Inc.

ThomasNet - Searchable database of distributors, manufacturers and service providers

 

Wisconsin Directories

Many Wisconsin companies are included in Hoovers and the D&B Million Dollar Database. Smaller companies that aren't included may be found in the following books in the Business Library Reference Collection.

Wisconsin Business Service Directory -- REF HG 4057 W572

Wisconsin Manufacturers Directory -- REF HG 4057 W581

 

Reference Librarian

Profile ImageEunice Gandt
Contact Info:
UW-Madison Business Library
2200 Grainger Hall
(608) 263-4274
Send Email

Subjects:
Business

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait