Federal Laws and Regulations
To become familiar with federal laws and regulations concerning water, here are a few Web sites to begin research. All three deal with all branches of government and will lead you to legislation or other government publications.
- The Library of Congress Government Resources Thomas, the Library of Congress' legislature information Web site named after Thomas Jefferson, has a list of government resources and links to provide access to House and Senate legislation, as well as links to branches of government and historical sites
- USA.gov An excellent way to get acquainted with all aspects of government, law and federal regulation.
- USA.gov: Environment, Energy and Agriculture When searching USA.gov, Environment, Energy and Agriculture may be a topic containing water-related information.
- USA.gov: Science When searching USA.gov, Science may be a topic containing water-related information.
- USA.gov: Public Safety and Law When searching USA.gov, Public Safety and Law may be a topic containing water regulation and legislation.
- GPO Access The U.S. Government Printing Office (GPO) disseminates official information from all three branches of the Federal Government. Due to abundance of information on this Web site, when searching by keyword, try to be as specific as possible.
Wisconsin Laws and Regulations
To become familiar with Wisconsin's laws, water-related and otherwise, the Wisconsin State Legislature Web site has the following sections to look at specific topics.
- Wisconsin Statues and Annotations The general statutes of Wisconsin, includes Index.
- Wisconsin Constitution The Folio version can be searched easily. Also includes U.S. Constitution and Declaration of Independence.
- Wisconsin State Legislature Includes Acts, Bills, Resolutions & Joint Resolutions. Complete text and history of each. Index Subject index to Senate and Assembly bills. joint resolutions, resolutions and petitions.
- Wisconsin Administrative Code and Register The online version of the administrative rules of Wisconsin executive agencies is unofficial. It is indexed. The Register is available in both Adobe Acrobat and Folio. The Folio version can be searched easily.
- Wisconsin Blue Book Biennial almanac of Wisconsin government.
State Water Agencies
Wisconsin-specific resources to begin search in water law and agencies. Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources is a widely cited source for water regulation and law.
- Wisconsin.gov Wisconsin.gov is the State of Wisconsin Information Server with links to all state agency Web sites. It also includes links to the Web sites of counties and cities, towns, and villages.
- Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources DNR is the agency where most water-related programs are housed.
- WI DNR Drinking Water and Groundwater Source for list of certified drinking water testing labs for private well owners.
- WI DNR Fisheries Management & Habitat Protection
- WI DNR Watershed Management
Federal Water Agencies
- US EPA
- US EPA Region 5 Water Supports a variety of water programs and activities in Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Michigan, Minnesota, and Ohio.
- US Geological Survey The USGS provides "reliable scientific information to describe & understand the Earth; minimize loss of life & property from natural disasters; manage water, biological, energy, and mineral resources; and enhance and protect our quality of life."
- USGS Upper Midwest Environmental Sciences Center Provides access to biological, physical, spatial, graphic, and written information relating to Upper Mississippi River System and adjoining geographic areas.
- USGS Wisconsin Water Science Center Provides water data, project information, and publications related to Wisconsin.
- US National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA)
University Programs Focused on Water
- Central Wisconsin Groundwater Center A joint activity of UW Stevens Point and UW Extension. Its purpose is to help "Wisconsin citizens and governments manage the groundwater resource wisely, through education, public information, applied research, and technical assistance."
- Edgewood Wingra Watershed Project Project of Edgewood College's Department of Natural Science in cooperation with Friends of Lake Wingra connects students with local community, using the Lake Wingra watershed as a focus.
- University of Wisconsin-Extension Lakes Program Part of the Wisconsin Lakes Partnership, UW-Extension Lakes Program is a collaborative effort located at the University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point. The mission of the program is to protect Wisconsin's inland lakes for future generations.
- University of Wisconsin-Extension Water Resources Programs Web site provides information about water quality and natural resources education programs in Wisconsin.
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Center for Limnology Web site includes information about Lake Mendota and other Yahara lakes, as well as links to information about northern Wisconsin Lakes.
- University of Wisconsin-Madison Water Resources Institute Web site includes summaries of WRI research projects on groundwater, surface water and drinking water studies in Wisconsin and other U.S. sites, as well as information about funding, conferences, and a directory of experts.
- Wisconsin Groundwater Research and Monitoring Program Reports A digital collection of the final reports of projects funded by the University of Wisconsin System and the state's Department of Natural Resources.
Environmental Law
- UW-Madison's Environmental Law research guide Resources on environmental law from UW-Madison's law librarian Bonnie Shucha
Water Librarian |
Wisconsin's Water Library
1975 Willow Drive, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
608.262.3069
Send Email
Subjects:
water, Great Lakes, children's books about water
UW-Madison Help
Water information is found in several libraries on campus. You may find useful resources and expert help at:
Steenbock Library (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
Wendt Library (Engineering)
Water Law Books
Here are some books on water law found at Wisconsin's Water Library. Please click on the title of the book if you wish to locate the MadCat record and request the book.
The human right to water : legal and policy dimensions - Salman M.A. Salman
Call Number: 201629
ISBN/ISSN: 0821359223
Beyond litigation : case studies in water rights disputes - Craig Anthony (Tony) Arnold & Leigh A. Jewell
Call Number: 201520
ISBN/ISSN: 1585760323
Siren song : Chilean water law as a model for international reform - Carl J. Bauer
Call Number: 201634
ISBN/ISSN: 1891853791
Clean Water Act - Joel Gross
Call Number: 201637
ISBN/ISSN: 1590312422
Suggest a Link
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link

Loading content... please wait