Professional Organizations Job Postings
Most professional associations have job listings, although some restrict use to members. Others have special services for members such as a placement service or resume referrals. Some of the better free sites are listed below. For more links to professional organizations, UW-Madison users can go to Associations Unlimited. Non-UW users can use Google or Aquatic Network's Employment Links.
- American Fisheries Society
- American Society of Civil Engineers
- American Society of Limnology and Oceanography
- American Water Resources Association
- American Water Works Association
- Estuarine Research Federation
- Geological Society of America
- International Association for Great Lakes Research
- National Ground Water Association
- Society of Wetland Scientists
Internships
Internships in water or science related fields for students.
- Environmental Careers Organization ECO, probably the most respected environmental internship program in the U.S., places over 700 interns per year.
- Student Conservation Association, Inc. Conservation internships and volunteer opportunities in our national parks, forests and other public lands.
- NSF Research Experiences for Undergraduates Program Click on Search for an REU Site and look at the Earth Sciences and Ocean Sciences sections of this National Science Foundation program.
- UW-Madison Center for Limnology Click on CFL Employment to find year-round and summer-only positions at both the Center and the Trout Lake Station in northern Wisconsin.
Looking in Wisconsin
These Wisconsin-based listings include professional and student opportunities.
- UW Student Job Center Lists part-time, limited term, summer jobs and internships at UW-Madison and off-campus.
- UW-Madison Employment Opportunities Lists vacancies for faculty, academic staff and higher level administrative positions at UW-Madison. It is updated daily Monday-Friday.
- UW-Madison Environmental Career Information - Professional Development Information regarding professional development options for environmental studies students. Some are discipline focused, others directed more at interdisciplinary envionmental studies and some are general opportunities available to anyone.
- UW Extension, Cooperative Extension Job Openings The place to look for openings with UW-Extension water resources programs.
- Dane County Employment Opportunities Lists county job openings.
- City of Madison Job Openings Check for city employment opportunities.
- Current Opportunities Bulletin Look here for Wisconsin State agency vacancies. Also, lists classified staff positions at UW campuses, and various city-county job vacancies. Updated weekly.
- DNR Employment Opportunities Listing of jobs available with the Wisconsin Department of Natural Resources.
- Job Net A service of the Wisconsin Job Service and Job Centers, JobNet lists thousands of jobs in Wisconsin.
UW System Career Centers
Career Centers of entire University of Wisconsin system.
- UW Green Bay Career Services
- UW LaCrosse Career Services
- UW Madison Academic & Career Advising
- UW Milwaukee Career Development Center
- UW Oshkosh Career Services
- UW Parkside Career Center
- UW Platteville Placement Services
- UW River Falls Career Services
- UW Stevens Point Career Services
- UW Stout Career Exploration Center
- UW Superior Career Center
- UW Whitewater Career and Leadership Development
Job Listing Databases
These are general job guides and/or listings looking for a water or science background.
- AquaNIC Aquaculture Jobs Click on "Job Services" for a listing of aquaculture jobs. Scroll down for links to many other listings of jobs. You can also post your resume at this site.
- Aquatic Network This site includes aquaculture, conservation, fisheries, limnology, marine science and oceanography, maritime heritage, ocean engineering, and seafood employment opportunities worldwide.
- Chronicle of Higher Education The Chronicle of Higher Education's guide to job searching and interview preparation complete with news and advice, forums, and employer information.
- Cyber-Sierra's Natural Resources Job Search Click on "Watershed" for a listing of sites with watershed, wetlands, marine and aquaculture jobs. Water-related jobs might also be listed in some of the other categories.
- EE-Link Environmental Education on the Internet is a good place to check if you are looking for a water-related environmental ed position. The links are to job directories and databases.
- EcoEmploy: Environmental Jobs and Careers Includes job listings and links to many water-related opportunities in the USA and Canada.
- Earthworks Jobs listed under "Hydrology/Hydrogeology/Water Resources", "Oceanography - Marine Sciences" and more. This site lists many academic and international positions.
- Employment Resources in Geosciences Syracuse University library provides this listing of many direct links to current job postings.
- Environment Directory A list of many resources to find environmentally focused employment.
- GIS Jobs Clearinghouse Database contains hundreds of job listings or you can post your resume. Also includes links to other GIS job resources.
- PHDs.org: Science, Math and Engineering Career Resources PhDs.Org tells you "everything you need to know to find a job in science". It includes both academic and nonacademic positions. Many links to other sites.
- Science Magazine Careers Brought to you by the journal Science, tools, tips, and resources to find a job in the field of science.
General Job Search Resources
These are basic guides with listings not necessarily water or science related.
- The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job Resources on the Internet All-inclusive guide to job-related information on the Internet.
- UW-Madison College Library Career Collection Comprehensive listing of career-related information including links to World Wide Web sites, books and journals in the College Library Career Collection and other campus libraries, and descriptions of UW-Madison resources.
- UW-Madison Career Information Guide Guide to finding career information at UW-Madison and on the Web. Also lists sites for information about student internships, clubs, professional associations, and student jobs.
Water Librarian |
Wisconsin's Water Library
1975 Willow Drive, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
608.262.3069
Send Email
Subjects:
water, Great Lakes, children's books about water
UW-Madison Help
Water information is found in several libraries on campus. You may find useful resources and expert help at:
Steenbock Library (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
Wendt Library (Engineering)
Suggest a Link
The following are links suggested by the users of Water Research Guide. Please feel free to let us know about sites you find useful or you think would be useful to water researchers.
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link

Loading content... please wait