AquacultureAquatic Invasive SpeciesArsenicClimate ChangeCoastal EcosystemsFisheriesGreat LakesGreen GardeningGroundwaterMarine & Aquatic Science LiteracySeafood Science & TechnologyWater Laws & Agencies
FundingJobs
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Admin Sign In 

Water Research Guide  Tags: water great_lakes  

Books, journals, databases, and other resources on water, science and the Great Lakes.
Last update: Aug 11th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/waterresearchguide  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Scholarly Articles            Print Page
  

Water Databases

Use these databases to find scholarly journal articles. Many include full text articles, but if full text is not included in the database, search for the journal title in MadCat and/or check the Electronic Journals listing. UW-Madison faculty, students and staff can use Library Express to have articles sent via email. The cost is $2 for items available on campus, free if the item is not available locally.

  • Agricola UW  
    U.S. National Agricultural library indexes 2500 journals, USDA publications, state agricultural experiment station and extension services documents, FAO publications, foreign documents, conference proceedings, books, and audio-visual materials.
  • Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts  
    Indexes more than 5000 journals, reports, conference proceedings, and books in the area of Aquatic Sciences. Covers major aspects including aquaculture, limnology, oceanography, and marine environments, environmental quality, and water pollution.
  • Engineering Index  
    Most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research, containing millions of references and abstracts from over 5000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports.
  • Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management  
    Multidisciplinary database covers all areas of air, land, water and noise pollution as well as basic science areas of bacteriology, ecology, toxicology, environmental engineering, environmental biotechnology, waste management, and water resources.
  • Fish and Fisheries Worldwide  
    Indexes English language journals, books, conference proceedings, symposia, government reports, theses and dissertations. Covers animal behavior, conservation, disease, genetics, habitats, management techniques, parasites, pesticides, and propagation.
  • GeoRef  
    Produced by the American Geological Institute. Indexes the earth sciences literature of the world. Contains more than 1.9 million references to literature covering North America since 1785, and other areas of the world since 1933.
  • General Science Full Text  
    Indexes 150 English-language popular and professional science periodicals. Subjects include the physical and life sciences, as well as genetics, environment and conservation, food and nutrition, medicine and health.
  • National Technical Information Service  
    Describes US government-sponsored research from agencies such as DOD, DOE, DOT, EPA, and NASA. Subjects include biotechnology, environment, materials science, and transportation, etc.
  • Oceanic Abstracts  
    Focused exclusively on worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. Long been recognized as leading source of information on topics relating to oceans.
  • Toxline  
    Produced by the National Library of Medicine. Toxline covers the pharmacological, biochemical, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Most citations include abstracts.
  • Water Resources Abstracts  
    Indexes and abstracts international scientific and technical literature on water resource-related aspects of the physical, social, and life sciences.
  • Web of Knowledge  
    A combination of three databases: Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Indexes more than 8000 peer-reviewed journals, and includes author-supplied abstracts where available.

Newspapers

Find local and international newspaper articles relating to your topic.

  • Newspapers - US and Worldwide  
    Links sites of newspapers and news services worldwide, arranged geographically. It also includes a list of searchable newspaper archives for the US.
  • Proquest Newspapers  
      
    Indexes articles from 41 national and Wisconsin newspapers; includes full text for most.
  • Lexis Nexis (Academic Universe)  
      
    Approximately 5000 legal, news, reference, & business sources, most full text. It includes international & U.S. newspapers, ethnic & regional news sources, wire services, newsletters, trade journals, industry analyst reports, and broadcast transcripts.
  • Global News Bank  
      
    Covering Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East, it is ideal for researching a wide variety of international developments related to politics, economics, science & technology, culture and
 

Water Librarian

Anne K. Moser

Contact Info:
Wisconsin's Water Library
1975 Willow Drive, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
608.262.3069
Send Email

Subjects:
water, Great Lakes, children's books about water

 

UW-Madison Help

Water information is found in several libraries on campus. You may find useful resources and expert help at:

Wisconsin's Water Library

Steenbock Library (Agriculture and Life Sciences)

Wendt Library (Engineering)

Chemistry Library

 

Search Tools

QuickSearch for Articles

 


Find specialized article databases on your topic.

E-Resources Gateway


 Locate E-Journals and articles when you have a citation using Find It.


Find It Link


Suggest a Link

 
Description

  Loading content... please wait