Book Search Tools
MadCat is the catalog of books (including Ebooks), journals, and other materials held in UW-Madison libraries. More about Madcat.
Thesauri
A thesaurus is a vocabulary, usually applied to a special subject area. Thesauri can be alphabetical, or hierarchical, which shows the relationships among terms or keywords, and phrases. It can lead one to broader and narrower terms -- more general categories or specific jargon. These keywords and phrases are usually employed by indexers or authors to describe the content of papers. These terms are additional to, although frequently duplicative of, words or phrases in the titles and abstracts. Sometimes thesauri have scope notes, defining just how and when the term is employed.
National Agricultural Library Thesaurus and Glossary
Example: Hydrology terms
New Books at the Water Library
The following are some of the newly acquired books at the Water Library.
Please click on the title of the book if you wish to locate the MadCat record and request the book.
The Science of Water: Concepts and Applications - Frank R. Spellman
Call Number: 010160
ISBN/ISSN: 1420055445
Climate Change: The Science of Global Warming and our Energy Future - Edmond A. Mathez
Call Number: 030842
ISBN/ISSN: 0231146426
The Fantastic Undersea Life of Jacques Cousteau - Dan Yaccarino
Call Number: 110254 Kids
ISBN/ISSN: 0375855734
The new cleaning & cooking fish - Sylvia Bashline
Call Number: 281531
ISBN/ISSN: 0865730962
Electronic Journals
Here are two resources to find electronic journals.
- UW-Madison Electronic Journals This Web guide lists over 8,000 full-text electronic journals, magazines, newsletters and newspapers available to UW-Madison faculty, staff and students. It includes some full-text journals that are available free to all on the Internet.
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) DOAJ covers free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals in many languages. There are over 1400 journals in the directory, and nearly 350 are searchable at article level.
Journals found at the Water Library
This is a list of the current journals you can find in the Water Library. Feel free to come in and copy articles or just browse through any of them during library hours. If you would like to check the journal's Web site for full text electronic copies, just click the name of the particular journal.
- Environmental Science & Technology
- Excellence
- Ground Water
- Ground Water Monitoring Remediation
- Journal of Contemporary Water Research & Education
- Journal of the American Water Resources Association (JAWRA)
- Journal of the American Water Works Association
- Lake Line
- Land and Water
- Limnology and Oceanography
- Mariners Weather Log
- Science
- Science News
- Scientific American
- Small Flows Magazine
- Water & Wastes Digest
- Water Resources Impact
- Water Well Journal
- Wisconsin Natural Resources
- Wisconsin Trails
Reference Materials
These are general reference sources to use for aquatic sciences and water research purposes.
- CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Basic refernce book for chemical and physical data. Material is updated and revised and new material included in each annual. Sections include chemical and physics terminology, biochemistry, analystical chemistry, geophysics, and astronomy.
- Encyclopedia Britannica Online The complete encyclopedia, with more than 14,000 illustrations, including video clips, photographs, drawings, maps, and flags, as well as Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus.
- Encyclopedia of Ecology and Environmental Management One-volume guide (1998) to the core definitions and issues associated with pure and applied ecology.
- Dissertations & Theses Indexes doctoral dissertations in all subject areas completed at US accredited institutions. A limited number of masters theses and foreign language dissertations are also included.
- Current Research Current Research @ University of Wisconsin indexes all dissertations completed at UW-Madison that are in Dissertations & Theses database. Current Research @ CIC Institution indexes dissertations the Big Ten schools plus the University of Chicago.
Newsletters
The newsletters listed below are found in Wisconsin's Water Library. Online versions available by clicking the title.
- 2061 Today
- Advisor
- Agricultural Research
- Arizona Water Resource
- Aquatic Science Chronicle
- Chesapeake Quarterly
- Coastal Clips
- Coastal Connections
- Coastal Heritage
- Coastal Services
- Coastlines
- Coastwatch
- Colorado Water
- The Crest
- The Cross Section
- Divining Rod
- Desert Research Institute
- E-Train
- Facets of Freshwater
- Fishlines
- Great Lakes Angler
- Great Lakes Boating
- Great Lakes News
- The Helm
- Ka Pili Kai
- Lake Tides
- Limnology News
- Louisiana Coastal Law
- Mazina'igan
- NASULGC Newsline
- National Water Research Institute Briefings
- National Hazards Observer
- On Tap
- Pipelines
- Reporter
- RMI Solutions
- Rock River Reflections
- Rural Development News
- The Sandbar
- Sea Grant News
- Sea Star
- Sea Technology
- Seiche
- Soundings
- Southeastern Wisconsin Regional Planning Commission Newsletter
- Technology News and Trends
- Texas Shores
- Twine Line
- Two If By Sea
- Upper Mississippi River-Illinois Waterway System Navigation Study
- Upwellings
- Virginia Marine Resource Bulletin
- Virginia Sea Grant
- Virginia Water Central
- Water Current
- Water Matters
- Water Resources Research Center
- Water Shedd
- Wisconsin Outdoor News
- Wisconsin Wetlands
- Wrack Lines
- WRRI News
Water Librarian |
Wisconsin's Water Library
1975 Willow Drive, 2nd Floor
Madison, WI 53706-1177
608.262.3069
Send Email
Subjects:
water, Great Lakes, children's books about water
UW-Madison Help
Water information is found in several libraries on campus. You may find useful resources and expert help at:
Steenbock Library (Agriculture and Life Sciences)
Wendt Library (Engineering)
Suggest a Link
Description
Loading content... please wait


Submit a Link

Loading content... please wait