Getting Full Text
Follow the
button or Find It at UW Madison link in most databases to:
- access online full text (when available)
- see if the journal is available in print (MadCat)
- request a free pdf of the article if full text is not available online (Request a Copy/Library Express)
If you already have a citation, use this do-it-yourself
form to search for your article.
- How to Find a Specific Article
This video will walk you through the process of finding a specific article. Or, if you prefer, try this tipsheet
Manage your References
Citation Managers such as RefWorks, EndNote, or Zotero are software tools for managing your citations. Citation Managers will help you:
- Create and organize a personal research database
- Download citations from online databases
- Format bibliographies and citations in papers
- Share your citations with others
- RefWorks
RefWorks is web-based software for managing your citations. It is free to all faculty, staff and students at UW-Madison. - EndNote
EndNote is desktop citation management software that you can purchase from the DoIT Tech Store. It may be more appropriate if you are writing for publication. - Zotero
Zotero is a free Firefox plug-in that allows you to save citations, documents and copies of web pages. It's easy to learn, but not robust enough to support writing large documents. - Compare RefWorks, EndNote and Zotero
Core Article Databases
These databases are a good starting point for most topics...
Click on the
next to the database name to find out how to transfer references from that database to RefWorks or EndNote.
- Academic Search

Good mix of research and popular articles on almost any topic under the sun. - Communications Abstracts

Focus is specifically on the communication discipline. - Communications & Mass Media Abstracts

Includes communication journals not covered in most other databases. - Web of Knowledge

The unique Cited Reference search allows you to find all the papers that have cited a specific author or article. - Science Databases
- Databases by Subject
Newspapers
- Newspaper Source Plus
Includes 1,520 full-text newspapers. Contains comprehensive full text for major newspapers such as The New York Times (from January 1985 to present), The Boston Globe, The Christian Science Monitor, The Daily Mail (UK), The Irish Times (Ireland), The San Francisco Chronicle, The Sydney Morning Herald (Australia), The Times of London, The Toronto Star, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Washington Times, and others. Replaces Proquest Newspapers. - NEXIS (LEXIS/NEXIS) Academic Universe Web
Approximately 5,000 legal, news, reference, and business sources, Including Broadcast Transcripts - Global Newsbank
International issues and events. Covers Africa, Asia, Europe, the former Soviet Union, Pacific Rim, Central and South America and the Middle East. - Newspapers Research Guide
Has sources of current and historical newspapers available in print, electronically, and on microform through the UW-Madison Libraries and beyond. Has tabs to newspapers by Local/Madison, WI, USA, Alternative/Ethnic, International, and Other Sources.
Public Policies & Opinion Polls
- CQ Researcher
Contains weekly indepth reports that cover the most current and controversial issues of the day - Opposing Viewpoints
A complete one-stop source for information on social issues. - PollingReport
An independent, nonpartisan resource on trends in American public opinion. - Polling the Nations
Questions and responses from more than 14,000 national, state, local and special surveys in the U.S. and 80+ countries. - iPoll Databank
A full-text, question-level retrieval system for United States public opinion back to 1935.
Research Guide |
Barbara LazewskiOnline Chat / Networks:
Contact Info:
Steenbock Library Room 119
550 Babcock Drive
Madison WI 53706
608-263-3899
Send Email
Subjects:
Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Life Sciences Communication, UWEX Cooperative Extension
![]() |
Contact Info:
Steenbock Library Room 119
550 Babcock Drive
Madison WI 53706
608-263-3899
Send Email
Subjects:
Cellular & Molecular Biology, Genetics, Life Sciences Communication, UWEX Cooperative Extension
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait