This is the "Overview" page of the "Civil Rights: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Civil Rights: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, human_rights, paper_topic, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 29, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/civil_rights Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This Research Guide focuses on the civil rights movements in the United States in the 1960s. Sources cover mainly African Americans, but include American Indians, Hispanic Americans, women, gays and people with disabilities. Suggested database searches lead to articles about select major figures and events of the movements. Information about events not included in the suggested searches may be found in the Books section or in the listed web sites. Some sources cover events prior to the 1960s and/or current issues.

Overview Resources

Find background information on your research topic.

  • American Indian Movement Grand Governing Council  
    Rating
    This site mainly addresses current and on-going issues such as sports mascots and the Leonard Peltier case. Click on "AIM-GGC Profile" to read a history and chronology of the American Indian Movement, founded in 1968.
  • Civilrights.org  
    Rating
    A collaboration of the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights and the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights Education Fund, civilrights.org provides relevant and timely civil rights news and information.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • The Disability Rights and Independent Living Movement  
    Rating
    This site, from UC Berkeley, contains oral histories and audio and video clips from individuals and organizations in the disability rights movement. Searchable by person/organization or subject.
  • Viva Cesar E. Chavez!  
    Rating
    From the Cesar E. Chavez Institute at San Francisco State University, this site includes articles, interviews, speeches, photos, documents and links about Cesar Chavez and the United Farm Workers of America. Viewed best in Mozilla Firefox.
  • Voices of Civil Rights  
    Rating
    This is the web site of a project by the Library of Congress, the AARP and the Leadership Conference on Civil Rights to "collect and preserve personal accounts of America's struggle to fulfill the promise of equality for all."
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip