This is the "Overview" page of the "Childhood Obesity: An Undergraduate Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Childhood Obesity: An Undergraduate Research Guide   Tags: college_library, paper_topic, public_health, undergraduate_research  

Return to listing of all Undergraduate Research Guides
Last Updated: Mar 30, 2011 URL: http://researchguides.library.wisc.edu/child_obesity Print Guide ShareThis

Overview Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Ask A Librarian

 

Need help?

Ask a Librarian logo

Chat requires JavaScript.

 

or click for more options ...
 

Tell Us What You Think

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Research Classes

 

About This Guide

This research guide will help you find resources on causes and effects of childhood obesity. You can also find resources on community and national programs to prevent and address obesity in children and adolescents. 

Overview Resources

Use these resources to find background information on childhood obesity. 

  • Centers for Disease Control and Prevention: Childhood Obesity  
    Rating
    The CDC provides data and statistics as well as information about science-based strategies, national, regional and local programs.
  • Credo Reference  
    Rating
    A collection of 100 reference tools that may be searched collectively or individually. It includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, atlases, statistical sources, biographical tools, thesauri, books of quotations, image collections, and more.
  • KidsHealth: Overweight and Obesity  
    Rating
    KidsHealth provides an overview of causes, effects, and prevention of obesity. There are additional links to pages for parents, kids and teens.
  • MedlinePlus: Obesity in Children  
    Rating
    MedlinePlus is a comprehensive source provided by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. This site provides information on diagnosis, prevention and treatment as well as current news and research.
  • Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center  
    Rating
    Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center (OVRC) provides viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, and full-text magazine and newspaper articles related to controversial social issues.
  • World Health Organization: Childhood Overweight and Obesity  
    Rating
    Includes a general overview, science-based documents, and the WHO's Global Strategy on Diet, Physical Activity, and Health.
 

Need to cite articles, books, or Web pages?

UW-Madison Writing Center's Writer's Handbook has tips on citation styles (APA, Chicago, CBE, MLA, etc.).

Information on how to avoid plagiarism from UW-Madison's Writing Center.

Use RefWorks to organize your references and create bibliographies.

Friendly Librarian

Profile Image
Kelli Keclik
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
College Library
Room 2219
Helen C. White Hall
600 N. Park St.
Madison, WI 53706
608-265-5697
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip